Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Nicholas Low Letter

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 28 Jun 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Low, Nicholas, 1739-1826.
Title: Nicholas Low Letter
Dates: 1797
Quantity: 1 item (SC)
Abstract: Letter from New York businessman Nicholas Low to the Bank of Albany regarding a withdrawal of funds.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nicholas Low (1739-1826) was an American merchant from New York City. Low was born in New Jersey and during the American Revolution he chose the colonial side, while his brother Isaac remained a Loyalist and eventually returned to England. He developed numerous areas in upstate New York, including the town of Lowville in Lewis County which bears his name.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Nicholas Low Letter consists of a single letter from Low to G. W. [N.?] Schaick, cashier of the Bank of Albany, regarding a withdrawal from Low's account.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

The Egbert Benson Collection contains one letter to Nicholas Low from Benson.


Subject Headings

Persons

Low, Nicholas, 1739-1826.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Nicholas Low Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 511 Bank of Albany 1797