Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Eugene Loring Manuscript

An inventory of his item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LDC
Date: 02 Dec 2008

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Loring, Eugene, 1911-1982.
Title: Eugene Loring Manuscript
Dates: Undated
Quantity: 1 item (SC)
Abstract: Libretto for 'The Man from Midian,' with character analysis and choreographic directions.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Eugene Loring (1911-1982) was an American dancer and choreographer best known for his contributions to American-themed ballets, such as Billy the Kid.

Loring was born LeRoy Kerpestein on August 2, 1911 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. He began studying at the School of American Ballet in 1933 before making his professional debut in 1934 with Fokine's company. During his tenure with the Ballet Caravan (1936-1938), Loring began to choreograph various works. In 1941, he formed his own company, Dance Players, and opened the American School of Dance in Los Angeles in 1948. He had a successful dance career as a principal dancer and choreographer of ballets and films. Loring died on August 30, 1982.

Selected Choreographic Works

1936 Harlequin for President
1937 Yankee Clipper
1938 Billy the Kid
1939 City Portrait
1940 The Great American Goof
1941 The Beautiful People
1942 The Man From Midian
Prairie
1953 Capital of the World
1955 Meet Me in Las Vegas
1956 Funny Face (film)
1957 Silk Stockings (film)

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Eugene Loring Manuscript consists of a libretto for "The Man from Midian," which includes a character analysis and choreographic directions.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Loring, Eugene, 1911-1982 -- Man from midian.
Loring, Eugene, 1911-1982.

Subjects

Ballet.
Choreographers -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Librettos.

Occupations

Choreographers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Eugene Loring Manuscript
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Libretto


Inventory

Libretto
SC 265 "The Man from Midian" undated