Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Dec 1996

Revision history:
31 Mar 2008 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Longfellow, Henry Wadsworth, 1807-1882
Title: Henry Wadsworth Longfellow Collection
Dates: 1852-1888
Quantity: 24 items (SC)
Abstract: Correspondence, manuscripts, miscellanea of the American poet.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow (1807-1882) was an American poet whose works include "Paul Revere's Ride", The Song of Hiawatha, and "Evangeline". He was also the first American to translate Dante Alighieri's The Divine Comedy. He studied at Bowdoin College and later became a professor there; he also taught at Harvard.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Henry Wadsworth Longfellow Collection constitutes five letters and two autograph poems by the American author and poet, as well as a small assortment of miscellany relating to Longfellow, his children, and one of his correspondents.


Arrangement of the Collection

Letters are arranged chronologically. Miscellany is arranged alphabetically by type.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Longfellow, Henry Wadsworth, 1807-1882 -- Archives

Associated Titles

Arrow and the song.
Psalm of life.

Subjects

Poets, American -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Business cards.
Correspondence.
Negatives (photographs)
Photographs.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of John S. Mayfield; Sol Feinstone.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Manuscripts

Miscellany


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 138 1852, Dec 9 Fred B. Page, M.D. ("My Dear Doctor," with parodies of Longfellow poems)
SC 138 1865, Nov. 16 "My Dear Mr Street"
SC 138 1871, Nov. 21 Charles Cottnam Hamilton ("My Dear Sir")
SC 138 1872, Mar 14? William Dean Howells ("Dear Mr Howells")
SC 138 1877, Apr 26 Charles Cottnam Hamilton ("My Dear Sir")
Manuscripts
SC 138 "The Arrow and the Song" undated
SC 138 "A Psalm of Life" (last verse); gift of Sol Feinstone 6 Apr 1881
Miscellany
SC 138 Autograph of Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
SC 138 Business card: Mr. H. W. Longfellow
Cartes de visite
SC 138 Longfellow's children
SC 138 Evangeline (2 items)
SC 138 Engravings (2 items)
SC 138 Letter ( undated) to Amy Bridgeman and receipt ( 1888 Oct 10) to Mary Bridgeman of Alice M. Longfellow
SC 138 Photographic prints (4) and negative (1) of Charles Cottnam Hamilton (1813-1880), recipient of two of the letters, above (5 items)