Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Franz Liszt Manuscript

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 25 Jun 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Liszt, Franz, 1811-1886.
Title: Franz Liszt Manuscript
Dates: 30 Aug 1827
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Handwritten two-page musical manuscript of a funeral dirge; inscription on the back in French indicated it was composed on the occasion of his father's death.
Language: French
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Franz Liszt (1811-1886) was a Hungarian composer, pianist and teacher noted for his great skill as a virtuoso performer and his invention of the "symphonic poem." He was friends with Chopin and Berlioz.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Franz Liszt Manuscript consists of a single handwritten manuscript of a funeral dirge. An inscription on the back in French reads, "Cette marche funebre fur improvisee par Litz [sic] le surlendemain de la mort de son pere qui fut enterre a Boulougne."


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Liszt, Franz, 1811-1886.

Subjects

Composers -- 19th century.
Music -- 19th century.
Pianists -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts (document genre)

Occupations

Composers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Franz Liszt Manuscript,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1987.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
SC 508 Marche funebre 30 Aug 1827