Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Samuel Colville Lind Research Notebook

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 14 Sep 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Lind, Samuel C. (Samuel Colville), 1879-1965.
Title: Samuel Colville Lind Research Notebook
Dates: undated
Quantity: 1 volume.
Abstract: American chemist, specializing in research on chemical reactions. One research notebook with experiments.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Samuel Colville Lind (1879-1965) was an American chemist. His research focus was on chemical reactions, particularly reactions induced by ionizing radiation. He studied in both the United States and Europe (with Marie Curie, among others), and his career included positions at independent laboratories, government laboratories, and universities. His last position was Director of the Chemistry Division at Oak Ridge National Laboratory, and he was widely respected as a scientist, teacher, and administrator. His memoirs were published posthumously in 1972.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Samuel Colville Lind Research Notebook consists of one research notebook containing data on a range of experiments. The oversize volume includes charts, graphs, tables, and other data. An envelope contains microfiche cards with a filmed version of the notebook.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Lind, Samuel C. (Samuel Colville), 1879-1965.

Subjects

Chemistry -- Study and teaching.

Places

Chemists -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Research notes.

Occupations

Chemists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Samuel Colville Lind Research Notebook,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Philip Rudolph, 1973.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
Volume 1 Research notebook