Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Liechtenstein Music Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 13 Jul 1993

Revision history:
9 Apr 2009 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Title: Liechtenstein Music Collection
Dates: 1664-1695
Quantity: 46 reels of 35 mm. negative microfilm
Abstract: Microfilm of 980 religious and secular compositions collected by Karl II von Liechtenstein-Kastelkorn during his tenure as Prince-Bishop of Olomouc (Olmütz) in the Czech Republic. Approximately 100 composers have been identified, including many associated with the imperial court of Leopold I. Works by native Moravians and Bohemians are also present. The compositions include complete settings of masses, vesperae, litaniae, ensemble sonatas, and balletti.
Language: Latin
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Karl II von Liechtenstein-Kastelkorn (1623-1695) was a Catholic priest and served as Prince-Bishop of Olmütz (Olomouc) in the Czech Republic from 1664-1695. He spent much of his time in the city of Kromeriz but maintained close ties to the imperial court in Vienna and was a patron of musicians.

The collection is also known as "Czech music collection" and "Kromeriz music collection."


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Liechtenstein Music Collection consists of microfilm copies of 980 religious and secular compositions collected by Karl II von Liechtenstein-Kastelkorn, during his tenure as Prince-Bishop of Olomouc (Olmütz) in the Czech Republic. Approximately 100 composers have been identified, including many associated with the imperial court of Leopold I. Works by native Moravians and Bohemians are also present. The compositions include complete settings of masses, vesperae, litaniae, ensemble sonatas, and balletti.

Composers include Benedict Anton Aufschneider, Steffano Bernardi, Antonio Bertali, Heinrich Biber, Heinrich Aloys Brückner, Samuel Friedrich Capricornus (Bockshorn), Giacomo Carissimi, Arcangelo Corelli, Johannes Baptista Dolar, Antonio Draghi, Wolfgang Ebner, Johann Caspar Fischer, Francesco Foggia, Vincent Fux, Bonifazio Graziani (Gratiani), Andreas Hofer, Johann Kaspar Kerll, Albericus Mazak, Tarquini Merula, Adam Václav Michna z Otradovic, Marcin Mielczewski (Miltzovsky), Marco Gioseppe Peranda, Alessandro Poglietti, Joannes Petro Aloysio Praenestino, Ferdinand Tobias Richter, Philipp Jacob Ridler (Rittler), Giovanni Felice Sances, Johann Heinrich Schmelzer, Giovanni Valentini, Pavel Josef Vejvanovsky, Filippo Vismarri, and Pietro Andrea Ziani.


Arrangement of the Collection

No particular order.


Other Related Finding Aids

Described in: Seventeenth-century music from Kromeriz, Czechoslovakia : a catalog of the Liechtenstein music collection on microfilm at Syracuse University / compiled by Craig A. Otto. Syracuse, NY : Syracuse University Libraries, 1977.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Aufschnaiter, Bendikt Anton, 1665-1742.
Bernardi, Steffano, approximately 1585-1636.
Bertali, Antonio, 1605-1669.
Biber, Heinrich Ignaz Franz, 1644-1704.
Brückner, Heinrich Aloys.
Capricornus, Samuel, 1628-1665.
Carissimi, Giacomo, 1605-1674.
Corelli, Arcangelo, 1653-1713.
Dolar, Janez Krstnik, approximately 1620-1673.
Draghi, Antonio, 1635-1700.
Ebner, Wolfgang, 1612-1665.
Fischer, Johann Kaspar Ferdinand, 1656-1746.
Foggia, Francesco, 1603-1688.
Fux, Vinzenz, approximately 1606-1659.
Graziani, Bonifazio, 1604 or 1605-1664.
Hofer, Andreas, approximately 1629-1684.
Kerll, Johann Kaspar, 1627-1693.
Liechtenstein-Castelcorn, Karl, -1695 -- collector.
Mazak, Alberich, 1609-1661.
Merula, Tarquinio, -1665.
Michna z Otradovic, Adam, approximately 1600-1676.
Mielczewski, Marcin, -1651.
Palestrina, Giovanni Pierluigi da, 1525?-1594.
Peranda, Marco Gioseppe, approximately 1625-1675.
Poglietti, Alessandro, -1683.
Richter, Ferdinand Tobias, approximately 1651-1711.
Rittler, Philip Jacob, 1637-1690.
Sances, Giovanni Felice, approximately 1600-1679.
Schmelzer, Johann Heinrich, approximately 1623-1680.
Valentini, Giovanni, -1649.
Vejvanovský, Pavel Josef, approximately 1639-1693.
Vismarri, Filippo, approximately 1635-1706.
Ziani, Pietro Andrea, 1616-1684.

Subjects

Church music -- Catholic Church.
Composers -- Central Europe.
Composers -- Europe, Eastern.
Music -- 17th century.
Music -- Manuscripts -- Czechoslovakia -- Kromeriz.
Music on microfilm -- New York -- Syracuse.
Sacred vocal music.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts (document genre)
Music.
Scores.

Occupations

Composers.

Also known as: Czech music and Kromeriz music collection.


Location of Originals

Originals are, or were, located in Kromeriz, Czechoslovakia.


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Liechtenstein Music Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Missae

Offertoria

Vesperae

Sonatae

Litaniae

Requiem

Bolletti

Miscellaneous


Inventory

Missae
Cabinet 5:5, Reel I:6-8 Numbers 6-8 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel I:9-13 Numbers 9-13 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel I:14-23 Numbers 14-23 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel I:25-30 Numbers 25-30 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel I:31-42 Numbers 31-42 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel I:43-45 Numbers 43-45 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel I:46-49 Numbers 46-49 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel I:50-60 Numbers 50-60 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel I:61-69 Numbers 61-69 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel I:70-77 Numbers 70-77 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel I:78-84 Numbers 78-84 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel I:86-103 Numbers 86-103 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel I:104-133 Numbers 104-133 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel I:136-163 Numbers 136-163 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel I:164-179 Numbers 164-179 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel I:180-192 Numbers 180-192 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel I:193-210 Numbers 193-210 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel I:213-230 Numbers 213-230 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel I:231-259 Numbers 231-259 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel I:262-282 Numbers 262-282 (1 reel) (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel I:283-296 Numbers 283-296 (1 reel)
Offertoria
Cabinet 5:5, Reel II:1-64 Numbers 1-64 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel II:67-104 Numbers 67-104 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel II:107-133 Numbers 107-133 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel II:134-205 Numbers 134-205 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel II:206-265 Numbers 206-265 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel II:266-322 Numbers 266-322 (1 reel)
Vesperae
Cabinet 5:5, Reel III:2-44 Numbers 2-44 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel III:45-69 Numbers 45-69 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel III:71-92 Numbers 71-92 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel III:93-115 Numbers 93-115 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel III:116-125 Numbers 116-125 (1 reel)
Sonatae
Cabinet 5:5, Reel IV:5-59 Numbers 5-59 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel IV:60-106 Numbers 60-106 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel IV:109-177 Numbers 109-177 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel IV:178-231 Numbers 178-231 (1 reel)
Litaniae
Cabinet 5:5, Reel V:9-87 Litaniae 9-87 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel VI:I-VI Salve Regina (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel VII-XIII [Miscellaneous] (1 reel)
Alma Redemptoris (VII)
Ave Regina Coeluri (VIII)
Regine Coeli (IX)
Hymni (X)
Te Deum Laudamus (VI)
Requiem
Cabinet 5:5, Reel XIII [untitled] (1 reel)
Bolletti
Cabinet 5:5, Reel XIV:1-73 Numbers 1-73 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel XIV:74-99 Numbers 74-99 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel XIV:100-126 Numbers 100-126 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel XIV:127-184 Numbers 127-184 (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel XIV:186-235b Numbers 186-235b (1 reel)
Cabinet 5:5, Reel XIV:236-XVI Numbers 236 (1 reel (same as Miscellaneous, below))
Miscellaneous
Cabinet 5:5, Reel XIV:236-XVI Miscellaneous compositions
On same reel as Bolletti 236, above