Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Liberal Party of New York State Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 6 May 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Liberal Party of New York State.
Title: Liberal Party of New York State Collection
Dates: circa 1950-1968
Quantity: 2 linear ft.
Abstract: Printed material, correspondence, clippings, publications of the Liberal Party of New York State, including 18 years of the "Liberal Digest."
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Liberal Party of New York State is a minor American political party formed in 1944 and active only in the state of New York. It is the oldest existing third party in the United States. Their platform includes support for reproductive freedom, environmental action and universal health care, and opposes the death penalty.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Liberal Party of New York State Collection includes printed material, correspondence, clippings, publications of the Liberal Party of New York State, including 18 years of the "Liberal Digest."


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Liberal Party of New York State.

Associated Titles

Liberal digest.

Subjects

Political parties -- New York (State)
Political parties -- United States.
Third parties (United States politics)

Places

New York (State) -- Politics and government.

Genres and Forms

Brochures.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Leaflets.
Magazines.
Programs (documents)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Liberal Party of New York State Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Liberal Party of New York State, 1970.

Clippings and correspondence, gift of Mark and Helen Starr, 1972.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.