Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Georg Leyh Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 13 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Leyh, Georg.
Title: Georg Leyh Collection
Dates: circa 1955
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: German University librarian and library director. Collection includes correspondence, original typed manuscripts, clippings, newspaper articles and photographs.
Language: German
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Georg Leyh (1877-1968) was a German librarian and scholar in library science. He worked at the university libraries of Gottingen, Konigsberg and Berlin and then in 1915 became Chief Librarian of Breslau. After serving in the military during World War II he joined the University of Tubingen as Director of the Library in 1920, a position he held until his retirement in 1947. He also taught in the library school there. Leyh is considered an important figure in the field of library science and library history.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Georg Leyh Collection includes correspondence, original typed manuscripts, clippings, newspaper articles and photographs.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Leyh, Georg.

Subjects

Librarians -- Germany.
Library science -- Germany.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Manuscripts (document genre)
Photographs.

Occupations

Librarians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Georg Leyh Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1998.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.