Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Lewis Family Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LDC
Date: 02 Dec 2008

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Lewis family.
Title: Lewis Family Collection
Dates: 1781-1833
Quantity: 50 items (ca.) (SC)
Abstract: Financial papers of the Lewis family of Virginia. Also specifications for a house to be built for William Lewis.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Lewis family (fl. 1781-1833) lived in Virginia during the second half of the 18th century. Members of the family included Betsey, George, John, Timothy, and William Lewis.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Lewis Family Collection contains Financial records from the Virginia family. Most of the records are bills and receipts for various purchases, such as a receipt for "Three head of Cattle for the use of the publick which have been apraised according to Law." In addition, the collection contains one Miscellaneous item, the specifications for a house to be built for William Lewis.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection contains two series: Financial records and Miscellaneous.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Lewis family.

Subjects

Genealogy.
Virginia -- History -- 1775-1865.

Genres and Forms

Financial records.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Lewis Family Collection
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Financial records

Miscellaneous


Inventory

Financial records
SC 264 Bills and receipts 1781-1833 (50 items (ca.))
Miscellaneous
SC 264 Specifications for a house to be built for William Lewis undated