Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Chester Leich Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 13 Apr 2010

Revision history:
12 Jul 2010 processed (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Leich, Chester, 1889-1978.
Title: Chester Leich Collection
Dates: 1908-1998
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: American painter and illustrator. Collection includes manuscripts, printed material, photographs, clippings, etching.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Chester Leich (1889-1978) was an American painter and etcher known for his landscapes and drypoint etchings.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Chester Leich Collection consists of artwork, personal material, and printed material.

Artwork contains original prints and sketches as well as reproductions of Leich's work (postcards, greeting cards, etc.). Some, if not all, of the original prints may have been intended as a teaching set; they are preceded by a one-page overview of printing, and each print is an example of a different type of process (mezzotint, aquatint, woodblock, etc.)

Personal material consists of several autobiographical pieces and reminiscences by Leich and other family members; a set of pages collectively labeled "Notes" containing Leich's thoughts on art, design, and the work of Rubens; family photographs, most labeled on the back; a scrapbook of notes on various birds; and miscellaneous items, including what appears to be a travel diary of a trip to Germany, a letter describing a trip to Norway, and alien registration cards for Leich and his wife.

Printed material includes catalogs, bulletins, and photostats of a few letters.


Arrangement of the Collection

Leich's original folder headings and organization were retained, with two exceptions: the addition of sub-headings for personal material, and the grouping of sketches and other items under the heading "Artwork."


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Leich, Chester, 1889-1978.

Subjects

Etchers -- United States.
Painters -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Manuscripts (document genre)
Memoirs.
Photographs.
Prints.

Occupations

Etchers.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Chester Leich Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Chester Leich, 1965.

Additional material, including scrapbook, gift of Harold Leich, 2010.


Table of Contents

Artwork

Personal material

Printed material


Inventory

Artwork
Box 1 Prints (originals)
Box 1 Reproductions
Box 1 Sketches (originals)
Personal material
Box 1 Autobiographical and family history 1952, 1960, 1983, 1998
Box 1 "Notes"
Box 1 Photographs, family 1908, 1939, 1942, undated
Box 1 Scrapbook - notes on and sketches of birds
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Contains a print (possibly a self-portrait), a letter from Leich dated 1924 about Norway, alien registration cards for Leich and his wife, a travel diary, and assorted postcards with notes on back (never sent)
Printed material
Box 1 Catalogs, bulletins, letters 1917, 1921, 1933, 1938, 1940, 1941, 1958, 1963, undated
Box 1 Clippings 1935, 1939, 1941, 1956, 1958, 1962