Collection inventory


Finding Aids

James Laver Correspondence

An inventory of his correspondence at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 21 Sep 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Laver, James, 1899-1975.
Title: James Laver Correspondence
Dates: 1969-1972
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Correspondence between the British author, art historian, and museum curator, and David Tatham, Dean of Men and Lecturer in Fine Arts at Syracuse University.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

James Laver (1899-1975) was a British author, art historian and museum curator. For more than twenty years he was curator of prints and drawings at the Victoria and Albert Museum in London. He was also a noted fashion historian.

David Tatham (1939- ) is the author of seven books and more than eighty scholarly articles, exhibition catalogue essays, and journal reviews concerning American art of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. He is presently (2010) a Professor Emeritus at Syracuse University, where he taught for many years.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The James Laver Correspondence consists of correspondence between Laver and David Tatham, Fine Arts lecturer and Dean of Men at Syracuse University. The letters are largely personal in nature, most of them regarding Laver's books.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Additional David Tatham material is available in the Syracuse University Archives.


Subject Headings

Persons

Laver, James, 1899-1975.
Tatham, David, 1939-

Subjects

Art historians -- Great Britain.
Art historians -- United States.
Authors, American.
Authors, English.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

James Laver Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of David Tatham, 1983.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 579 Tatham, David 1969-1972