Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Laughton Family Correspondence

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 6 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Laughton family.
Title: Laughton Family Correspondence
Dates: 1861-1865
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Civil War era correspondence, printed material from a 19th century New York family. Bulk of correspondence is from soldiers Joseph Laughton and his brother John Laughton.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Laughton family was a 19th century family in central New York. Brothers John and Joseph both served in the Continental Army during the United States Civil War; one or both may have been with the New York Infantry, 38th Regiment.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Laughton Family Correspondence consists of letters from members of the Laughton family to one another. The bulk of the collection consists of letters from brothers Joseph and John Laughton. There is one letter from their mother, one from Joseph's wife, and a few from a cousin named Willshire and from Seneca Newberry, a fellow soldier of Joseph's.


Arrangement of the Collection

Letters are subdivided by sender and within that are in chronological order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has several collections of Civil War letters. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Laughton family.
Laughton, John.
Laughton, Joseph B.
Laughton, Minerva.
Newberry, Seneca.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Army of the Potomac.
United States. -- Army. -- New York Infantry Regiment, 38th (1861-1863)

Places

New York (State) -- History.
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives.

Genres and Forms

Letters (correspondence)

Occupations

Soldiers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Laughton Family Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, circa 1963.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Laughton, John 1862
Box 1 Laughton, Joseph 1861-1864
Box 1 Laughton, Minerva (Minnie) 1862
Box 1 Laughton, — (John and Joseph's mother?) 1862
Box 1 Newberry, Seneca (comrade of Joseph) 1864
Box 1 —, Willshire (cousin?) 1861-1865