Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

Eastwood Lane Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: CAD
Date: Jul 1986



Biographical History

Eastwood Lane (1879-1951) was an American composer from New York State. His compositions include piano suites, impressionist pieces, and ballet; perhaps his best-known piece is Adirondack Sketches.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Eastwood Lane Papers consists of biographical material, correspondence, musical compositions, writings, sketches (2 items), printed material and memorabilia.

The small amount of Correspondence, most of which is undated, contains single letters from composers William Berwald, Charles Huerter, and Deems Taylor, contemporaries and friends of Lane. The largest group of outgoing correspondence is by Lane to soprano Modena Scovill Lane, his wife. Many of these were written from Lane's Adirondack home and discuss the natural surroundings as well as local events and news.

Musical compositions is by far the largest component of this collection. Some pieces are in sketch form, others in published format. Only a very few will be represented in both, thus making research on the development of a theme from sketch to publication difficult.

Writings are, for the most part, by Lane, including published articles and samples of his "Wind and percussion" column.

Printed materials are divided into the following: by and about Lane; advertisements for Lane works; Wanamaker concert programs; other programs, and miscellaneous clippings.

Memorabilia includes diaries and address books, photographs (Lane, M.S. Lane, others) and a scrapbook.


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is subdivided into incoming and outgoing. Musical compositions are arranged in alphabetical order by title. Writings, published material, and memorabilia are arranged alphabetically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Lane, Eastwood, 1879-1951.

Subjects

Composers -- United States.
Composition (Music)

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Audiocassettes.
Compact discs.
Letters (correspondence)
Photographs.
Poems.
Programs (documents)
Scores.
Scrapbooks.
Sketches.

Occupations

Composers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Eastwood Lane Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mr. and Mrs. Franklin E. Dunham.


Table of Contents


Inventory