Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Charles Lamb Letter

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 1993

Revision history:
8 Jun 2007 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Lamb, Charles, 1775-1834.
Title: Charles Lamb Letter
Dates: 1830?
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Charles Lamb was an English author and critic. Signed holograph note to Mr. Charles Ryle, pasted to verso of the title page of Lamb's "The Essays of Elia" (1867).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Charles Lamb (1775-1834) was an English author, essayist and critic. He is best known for his "Essays of Elia" and for the children's book Tales from Shakespeare, written with his sister Mary.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles Lamb Letter consists of a signed holograph note from Lamb to Charles Ryle, friend and co-executor of his will. Pasted to the verso of the title page of Lamb's"The Essays of Elia" (1867), the note directs Ryle to make a payment to Mrs. Reynolds, Lamb's schoolmistress, for whom he provided a pension until her death in 1832.

"Wishing Mrs. Ryle and you a merry Christmas, this is to entreat you to call upon Mrs. Reynolds & advance her L3, and tell her I shall see her in two or three weeks. C. Lamb, Christmas Eve.
P.S. Don't eat too much plum pudding tomorrow."

Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Lamb, Charles, 1775-1834.
Ryle, Charles.

Subjects

Authors, English.

Genres and Forms

Letters (correspondence)

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles Lamb Letter
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of George and Lena Arents.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 120 Letter 24 Dec 1830?