Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Lawrence Kupferman Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: ca. 1966

Revision history:
31 Mar 2008 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Kupferman, Lawrence, 1909-
Title: Lawrence Kupferman Papers
Dates: circa 1947-1964
Quantity: 1.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American painter, etcher. Died 1982. Correspondence, financial material, photographs and slides of work, sketchbooks, and printed material, including articles and exhibition catalogs.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Lawrence Kupferman (1909-1982) was an American painter and etcher. Born in Boston, Massachusetts, he studied at the Boston Museum School (1929-1931) and at the Massachusetts School of Art (1931-1935), and like many of his fellow artists of the time was employed by the Work's Progress Administration (1937-1940). He taught at the Massachusetts College of Art for many years, eventually becoming head of the Department of Painting.

Kupferman's work has been exhibited at such distinguished venues as the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts, the 1939 World's Fair in New York, the Whitney Museum of American Art, the Art Institute of Chicago, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and the Baltimore Museum of Art, among others, and is in the permanent collections of many prestigious institutions including the British Museum, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Museum of Modern Art, the Whitney Museum of American Art, the Museum of Fine Arts Boston, the Fogg Art Musuem and the Brooklyn Museum.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Lawrence Kupferman Papers contains correspondence, subject files, manuscripts, photographs, and printed material.

Correspondence includes both incoming and outgoing. Incoming correspondence is divided into business and personal correspondence. Subject files contain lists, bills, receipts, and a contract. Manuscripts consists mainly of sketchbooks and two original poems. Photographs contains glass slides of paintings and some works. Published material contains clippings and other miscellany.


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is divided into incoming and outgoing; incoming is arranged alphabetically by sender while outgoing is arranged chronologically. The remaining series are arranged alphabetically by type or title.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Kupferman, Lawrence Edward, 1909-1982.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Etchers -- United States.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.
Photographs.
Sketchbooks,
Slides (photographs)

Occupations

Artists.
Etchers.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Lawrence Kupferman Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject files

Manuscripts

Photographs

Published material


Inventory

Correspondence
Incoming
Business
Box 1 B-S
Box 1 Ruth White Gallery
Personal
Box 1 A-S
Outgoing
Box 1 1956-1964
Box 1 Letters to Charlie
Subject files
Box 1 Artist-dealer contract
Box 1 Bills and receipts
Box 1 Lists
Manuscripts
Box 1 Sketch books
Box 1 Two original poems: "Old House Brewster" and "Truro Beach"
Photographs
Box 1 Glass slides - paintings
Works
Box 1 Oct 1949 - May 1950
Box 2 Oct and Nov 1947, Oct 1949, Dec 1947-Jan 1948
Box 2 1947, Feb-May 1948, 1949
Box 2 Kupferman's paintings 1963, 1964, undated
Published material
Box 2 Articles about
Box 2 Exhibitions - Kupferman and others
Box 2 "Ehec" - paint manual
Box 2 News clipping, "Resin compoubd defies elements" - paint manual