Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Max Kuehne Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: ASE
Date: Dec 1993

Revision history:
13 Feb 2007 converted to EAD (AMCon)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Kuehne, Max, 1880-
Title: Max Kuehne Papers
Dates: 1912-1962.
Quantity: 1.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the German-American painter, etcher, and gesso artist; died 1968.
Abstract: Letters (8) of Albert C. Barnes (1921-1923), for whom Kuehne made gesso frames and furniture; 1 pencil sketch, 4 photographs of Kuehne's gesso work; miscellaneous reproductions (1923-1937); articles and reviews (1912-1936), a book about Kuehne by A.E. Gallatin, clippings (1913-1938), and exhibition catalogs and invitations (1918-1961); and 2 photographs of Kuehne.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Max Kuehne was a colorist best remembered for his Impressionist style and vivid rendering of light and color. He practiced open air painting and created many cheerful landscapes.

Kuehne was born in Halle, Germany, in 1880. He moved to Flushing, New York, in 1894, and there grew to love the active, outdoor life, spending the summer months on the Hudson River swimming, rowing and sailing.

He began formal art training at age 27 and studied with William Merritt Chase and Robert Henri, two prominent American painters. During this time, he learned the values and techniques of the Impressionist and Realist schools. After finishing his studies, Kuehne traveled Europe, exploring the continent on his bicycle. There, he absorbed the influence of many different artistic styles and techniques, from Fauvism to Cubism to the Old Masters.

After further travels, Kuehne set up a studio in Rockport, Massachusetts, and spent his summers in Cape Ann, Massachusetts. He maintained an active schedule, becoming something of a legend for his energetic pursuits: painting in the morning, swimming or sailing in the afternoon, then a lunch or picnic outside.

Kuehne appears to have been very hard hit by the Depression years. To make ends meet he developed a career creating decorative screens, panels, and furniture in gesso and silver leaf, skills he acquired while making his own frames. His athletic pursuits helped him live a long life and invigorated his painting, infusing his marine and boating subject matter with a dynamic energy.

Adapted from Artists of Cape Ann: A 150 Year Tradition by Kristian Davies


Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1912 to 1962, the Max Kuehne Papers comprises Biographical Material, Correspondence, Artwork, Writings, and Memorabilia of the German-born painter, etcher, and gesso artist (1880-1968). The collection chiefly contains printed material relating to the professional life of the American artist.

Correspondence (Box 1) consists of eight incoming letters (1921-1923) from Albert C. Barnes pertaining to commissioned frames, chests, and cigarette boxes, as well as details for the construction of the Barnes Foundation picture gallery. Artwork (Box 1) includes one original pencil sketch, four photographs of Kuehne's gesso work, and miscellaneous reproductions (1923-1937). A holograph manuscript describing a painting of Gloucester Harbor constitutes Writings (Box 1).

Memorabilia (Boxes 1-3) encompasses an exhibition award from the Carnegie Institute (1926), an exhibition receipt (1960), two photographs of Kuehne on the grounds outside his studio (1962), and printed material. Articles and reviews (1912-1936), a book about Kuehne and his artwork by A. E. Gallatin, newspaper clippings (1913-1938), and exhibition catalogs and invitations (1918-1961) comprise Printed material.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Barnes, Albert C. (Albert Coombs), 1872-1951.
Gallatin, A. E. (Albert Eugene), 1881-1952. -- Max Kuehne.
Kuehne, Max, 1880-

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Etchers -- United States.
German Americans.
Gesso.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century.
Painting, American.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.
Photographs.
Sketches.

Occupations

Artists.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Max Kuehne Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Biographical material

Correspondence

Artwork

Writings

Memorabilia


Inventory

Biographical material
Box 1 Biographical material
Correspondence
Box 1 Barnes, Albert C. 1921-1923
See also Artwork: Reproductions: 1923-1927
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1926 (one letter)
Artwork
Box 1 "Three Trees, Toledo" undated - Original sketch (pencil)
Box 1 Gesso work on furniture undated - Photographs (4)
Box 1 Reproductions 1923-1937 (5 folders)
Writings
Painting description
Box 1 "Gloucester Harbor" undated - holograph ms.
Memorabilia
Award
Box 1 Carnegie Institute exhibition - First Honorable Mention 1926
Exhibition receipt
Box 1 Wilmington Society of the Fine Arts 1960
Photographs (2)
Box 1 Kuehne, dog on studio grounds 1962
Printed material
Box 2 Articles, reviews 1912-1936 (4 folders)
Box 2 Books - Max Kuehne / A. E. Gallatin (New York, N.Y.: E. P. Dutton & Company) c1924
Box 2 Clippings 1913-1938, undated
Exhibition catalogs, invitations
Box 2 1918-1927 (3 folders of 6)
Box 2 1929-1942, 1960, 1961, undated (3 folders of 6)