Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Catherine Kolb Collection

An inventory of her letters at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LDC
Date: 24 Nov 2008

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Kolb, Catherine.
Title: Catherine Kolb Collection
Dates: 1907-1908
Quantity: 1 v. (SC)
Abstract: Kolb was the niece of Honoré de Balzac's wife. Letters, mostly to Georges Cain.
Language: In French
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Catherine Kolb (fl. 1907-1908) was the niece of the French novelist and playwright, Honoré de Balzac's, wife, Evelina Hanska.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Catherine Kolb Collection consists of a single bound volume which contains correspondence, newspaper clippings, photographs, and document facsimiles.

The 12 pieces of Correspondence are mostly to Georges Cain, written between 1907 and 1908.

The Photographs series contains a reproduction of a portrait of Balzac by Louis Boulanger and a photograph of a portrait of Balzac by Louis Giraud.

The Published material series consists of newspaper clippings that relate to Mme. Evelina Hanska's deportment following her husband's death.

Finally, the volume contains two Facsimiles. The first is of "Acte de Naissance de Honoré Balzac," Balzac's birth certificate. The second facsimile is "Fac-simile d'une épreuve imprimée de la première page du roman de 'Beatrix' avec les corrections de l'auteur," or a proof for Balzac's novel Beatrix, edited by the author.


Arrangement of the Collection

The contents of the collection are contained in a single bound volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Balzac family -- Correspondence.
Balzac, Honoré de, 1799-1850 -- Biography -- Family.
Cain, Georges.
Kolb, Catherine.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Catherine Kolb Collection
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Photographs

Published material

Facsimiles


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 261 1907-1908 (12 items)
Photographs
SC 261 Portrait of Honoré de Balzac by Louis Boulanger - reproduction
SC 261 Portrait of Honoré de Balzac by Louis Giraud - photograph of the original portrait
Published material
Newspaper clippings
SC 261 1907 (6 items)
Facsimiles
SC 261 "Acte de Naissance de Honoré Balzac"
SC 261 "Fac-simile d'une épreuve imprimée de la première page du roman de 'Beatrix' avec les corrections de l'auteur"