Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Malcolm S. Knowles Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: -
Date: -

Revision history:
14 Apr 1999 additions, boxes 67/68 (DLC)
14 Aug 2006 converted to EAD (MRR)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Knowles, Malcolm Shepherd, 1913-
Title: Malcolm S. Knowles Papers
Dates: 1930-1985, (bulk: 1951-1985)
Quantity: 33 linear ft.
Abstract: Contains Knowles’s personal and professional papers: biographical data, correspondence, photographs, printed and published material, scrapbooks, speeches, meeting and workshop documentation, cassette and video tapes, films, and graphics. Includes papers generated by Knowles as professor (Boston University and North Carolina State University); as member of a number of adult education organizations; as educator (workshops and seminars); and as consultant to various organizations.
Abstract: Major correspondents and/or individuals with printed/published material in the collection include George F. Aker, Eugene Eli DuBois, Philip H. DuBois, Stanley M. Grabowski, Cyril Orvin Houle, J.R. Kidd, Alan Boyd Knox, Imogene E. Okes, Matilda G. Paisley, King M. Wientge, and Betty H. Wiser.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Malcolm S. Knowles was born August 24, 1913 in Livingston, Montana. Following his graduation from Palm Beach, Florida High School in 1930, he enrolled in Harvard College where he obtained his A.B. in 1934. He completed his academic studies at the University of Chicago by earning an M.A. in 1949 and a Ph.D. in 1960. He married Hulda Fornell in 1935 by whom he had two children; Eric (1941) and Barbara E. Hartl (1946).

During his early career years, Malcolm S. Knowles held administrative positions with the National Youth Administration of Massachusetts and YMCAs in Boston, Detroit and Chicago. From 1951-1959 he was Executive Director of the Adult Education Association of the U.S.A. (AEA-USA). Under his leadership, Knowles helped to establish the Commission of Professors of Adult Education as an affiliated association of the AEA-USA. From 1960-1974 he was a Professor of Education at Boston University. With the start of the fall semester, 1974 he taught as Professor of Adult and Community Education at North Carolina State University in Raleigh until his retirement in 1979.

In addition to his administrative and teaching duties, Malcolm S. Knowles was actively involved as a consultant to numerous corporations, associations and organizations and wrote several books: Informal Adult Education; Teaching Adults in Informal Courses; How to Develop Better Leaders; Introduction to Group Dynamics; Handbook of Adult Education in the U.S.; The Adult Education Movement in the U.S.; Higher Adult Education in the U.S.; The Modern Practice of Adult Education; The Adult Learner: A Neglected Species; Self-Directed Learning: A Guide for Learners and Teachers; and A History of the Adult Education Movement in the U.S. He has authored many other monographs, book chapters and journal articles.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Malcolm S. Knowles Papers contains not only Dr. Knowles' papers, but also papers from various individuals, associations, organizations, and corporations concerned with adult education. Included in the collection are organizational information, biographical data, personal and business correspondence, meetings files, photographs, printed and published material, meetings files, scrapbooks, speeches, workshop files, and audio-visual material (cassette and video tapes, films, and graphics). Pamphlet series items have been added to university's adult education picture and pamphlet files.

The organizations of importance to the collection are:

Individuals with significant contributions to the collection are:


Arrangement of the Collection

Associations includes all information specific to the identity of an organization with which Knowles had some affiliation. The series is arranged alphabetically by name of association. Designated materials are annual reports, informational pamphlets, constitutions, and directories. Biographical series has vitae arranged alphabetically. Correspondence - business comprises letters to and from Knowles, grouped by subject matter (i.e., letters connected with an organization or writing project of Knowles). Arrangement is alphabetical by subject and chronological arrangement rules within a subject. Correspondence - personal contains daily correspondence to and from Knowles. The arrangement is chronological.

Meetings files contains files that Knowles maintained for conferences and other meetings which he attended. The meetings are identified by their sponsors which appear in alphabetical order. Multiple meetings by a single sponsor are further divided by date (earliest to latest) or conference title. Photographs are arranged alphabetically by identifier.

Printed material (substantive works such as organization publications, articles, journals, papers, and grant proposals) is arranged alphabetically by, in most instances, corporate body or title of work for personal authors. Articles by Knowles will not be found under title, however; these appear under the subseries "Articles by Knowles." Knowles' other papers are interfiled by title among all printed material. Published material comprises material that has an identifiable copyright. Arrangement is alphabetical by corporate author or title as is the case for personal authors or works without a stated author.

Knowles' Scrapbooks chronicle his late adolescence and early career years. They are ordered alphabetically by scrapbook name. Workshop files consists of the documentation that Knowles kept for workshops he conducted. The files are arranged alphabetically by workshop sponsor or title if no sponsor is identified. In cases of multiple workshops by a single sponsor an alphabetical and/or chronological order takes over.

Finally, Audio-visual contains graphics, films and tapes (videocassette, audiocassette and reel-to-reel). Material is grouped by type and within type is ordered alphabetically.

Due to the arrangement of material by type, a given individual or organization may appear in several of the series -- for example, Boston University appears in Associations, Printed material, Speeches, and Workshop files. The researcher is advised to review the entire finding aid to ensure no relevant material is overlooked.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

A large number of books came with the collection, a complete list of which can be found in Biographical material: List of books in Knowles' library. For the most part, these were duplicates of existing holdings and during Aug 2006 reprocessing they were discarded. A few were sent to Rare Books for cataloging and may be located through the Classic Catalog , by searching for "Malcolm S. Knowles" as a keyword.

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Aker, George F.
DuBois, Eugene Eli, 1937-
DuBois, Philip H. (Philip Hunter), 1903-1998.
Grabowski, Stanley M.
Houle, Cyril Orvin, 1913-
Kidd, J. R. (James Robbins), 1915-1982.
Knowles, Malcolm S. (Malcolm Shepherd), 1913-1997.
Knox, Alan Boyd, 1931-
Okes, Imogene E.
Paisley, Matilda G.
Wientge, King M.
Wiser, Betty H. (Betty Hutchinson)

Corporate Bodies

Adult Education Association.
American Association for Adult Education.
American Association for Adult and Continuing Education.
American Society for Training and Development.
Commission of Professors of Adult Education.
Continuing Library Education Network and Exchange.
Cooperative Assessment of Experiential Learning (U.S.)
Council for the Advancement of Experiential Learning (U.S.)
International Congress of University Adult Education.
International Federation of Training and Development Organizations.
National University Extension Association.
YMCA.
YWCA.

Subjects

Adult education -- Study and teaching.
Adult education -- United States.
Andragogy.
Educators -- United States.
Professional education.
Training manuals.

Genres and Forms

Annual reports.
Articles.
Bibliographies.
Correspondence.
Directories.
Manuals (instructional materials)
Newsletters.
Pamphlets.
Reports.
Scrapbooks.
Speeches.

Occupations

Consultants.
Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Malcolm S. Knowles Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Malcolm Sheperd Knowles

During processing (Aug 2006), the three boxes of adult ed books were sorted and either discarded -- if we had them in Summit -- or sent for cataloging in the rare books collection.


Table of Contents

Associations

Biographical

Correspondence - business

Correspondence - personal

Meetings files

Photographs

Printed material

Published material

Scrapbooks

Workshop files

Audio-visual


Inventory

Associations
Box 1 Alcohol and Drug Problems Association of North America - Summer Schools of Alcohol/Drug Studies 1974
Box 1 Adult Continuing Education 1976
Box 1 Adult Education Association of Massachusetts 1958-1959
Adult Education Association of the U.S.A.
Box 1 Annual reports 1952-1955
Box 1 Association information 1976
Box 1 Commission on Research 1964-1965
Box 1 Information and membership cards 1971-1973
Box 1 Organization history and information
Box 1 Adult Referral and Information Services in Education 1967-1968
Box 1 Adult Student Personnel Association, Inc. 1969
Box 1 American Association for Adult Education & National Education Association - Joint Committee 1950
Box 1 American Educational Research Association 1974-1975
Box 1 American Society for Training and Development - Professional Development Committee 1976, 1978
Box 1 Bentley College 1975-1976
Box 1 Boston College - Evening College undated
Boston University
Box 1 Continuing studies and educational services 1967
Box 1 Information pamphlet 1967
School of Education
Box 1 Department of Administration and Supervision 1969
Box 1 Department of Community College and Continuing Education 1973-1974
Box 1 Graduate program in adult education undated
Box 1 California Western University 1976
Box 1 Catholic Diocese of Richmond - Ministries Formation Program undated
Commission of Professors of Adult Education
Box 1 Annual reports 1960, 1961
Box 1 Brochure - draft 1976
Box 1 Brochure 1977
Box 1 Constitution and by-laws 1976
Box 1 Membership directories 1960, 1963-1967, 1969-1971, 1973, 1975-1977
Box 1 Membership information 1966
Box 1 Task Force on Instructional Improvement 1978
Box 68 Miscellaneous
Box 1 Continuing Education Council undated
Box 1 Continuing Library Education Network and Exchange 1975-1976
Box 2 Data Education Inc. 1971-1974
Box 2 Delaware Community College 1978
Educational Resources Information Center
Box 2 Clearinghouse in Career Education undated
Box 2 Clearinghouse on Adult Education undated
Box 2 Federal National Mortgage Association 1968
Box 2 Fielding Institute 1976
Box 2 Flint (Michigan) Community Schools 1972
Box 2 Florida State University - Department of Adult Education 1970-1971
Box 2 George Washington University - Institute for Educational Leadership undated
Box 2 Illinois State University - Kellogg Project 1976
Box 2 Institute for Organizational Behavior and Human Resource Development undated
Box 2 International Association of Chiefs of Police - Theft Prevention and Property Recovery Program undated
Box 2 International Federation of Training and Development Organizations undated
Box 2 Johns Hopkins University 1972-1974
Box 2 Maryland State Department of Education - Adult Basic Education/Instructional Television Project 1972-1974 (2 folders)
Box 3 Massachusetts Board of Higher Education - Advisory Council on Continuing Education 1967-1968
Massachusetts - Department of Mental Health
Box 3 Community Mental Health and Mental Retardation Area Boards 1969
Box 3 Continuing Education in Mental Health 1969-1970 (2 folders)
Box 3 Monash University undated
Box 3 Murdoch University - Educational Services and Teaching Resources Unit undated
National Academy for Health Inservice Education
Box 3 Board of Directors list and photograph
Box 3 By-laws 1970
Box 3 Informational pamphlets undated
Box 3 National Association for Public School Adult Education - Professional Development Committee undated
Box 3 National Center for Educational Statistics 1978
National Defense University
Box 3 Curriculum guides 1980-1981
Box 3 Report 1980-1981
Box 3 National Training Laboratory - Institute for Applied Behavioral Science - Professional Development Learning Communities 1972
Box 3 Nebraska Educational Television Council for Higher Education, Inc. undated
Box 3 New York State Education Department - Office of Doctoral Project - Rating Committee in Higher and Adult Education 1979
Box 3 North Carolina Adult Education Association - Task Force on Educational Brokering for North Carolina 1977
Box 4 North Carolina State University - Department of Adult and Community College Education 1971
Box 4 Oakland Community College – Personalized Educational Program 1971
Box 4 Ontario Institute for Studies in Education undated
Box 4 Overseas Education Fund of the League of Women Voters 1968-1970
Box 4 Pittsburgh Public Schools - Task Force on Community Use of Building Facilities 1967
Box 4 Project Associates, Inc. 1973
Box 4 R.A. Dinkel and Associates - Adult Education Promotion Services undated
Rutgers University
Box 4 Department of Extension, ca. 1951
University Extension Division - Labor Education Center
Box 4 Annual report 1970-1971
Box 4 Proposed program and asking budget 1972-1973
Box 4 Society of Professional Adult Educators undated
Box 4 State University of Nebraska undated
Box 4 Unitarian Universalist Service Committee undated
United States Department of Agriculture - Extension Service
Box 4 4-H youth development enrollment report 1975
Box 4 Cooperative Extension Service programs 1976
United States Department of Health, Education and Welfare
Box 4 Health Services and Mental Health Administration 1969
Box 4 National Center for Health Services Research and Development undated
National Institute of Education
Box 4 Dissemination and Resources Group 1976
Box 4 Informational pamphlet 1976
Box 4 Preliminary fiscal year 1978 program plans 1976
National Institute of Mental Health
Box 4 Continuing Education Review Committee 1969-1972 (2 folders)
Box 4 Universidad nacional experimental Simon Rodriquez undated
Box 5 University of Colorado - Extension Division - Adult Education Project - Region VIII 1970
Box 5 University of Southern California - School of Public Administration 1976, 1979-1980
Box 5 William Rainey Harper College - Professional Development Project - Human Resource Development Committee 1982
Box 5 Young Men's Christian Association - Organization Development Program 1961-1966
Box 5 Young Men's Christian Association of Canada - National Council 1967
Box 5 Young Men's Christian Association of the Philippines - Rizal Youth Leadership Training Foundation 1962
Biographical
Box 5 Biographical summary of Malcolm S. Knowles
Box 5 DuBois, Eugene E. - vita
Box 67 Evaluations
Box 5 List of books in Knowles' library
Most of these are available in the library's general collection. Please search the Classic Catalog by author or title for more information on individual books.
Correspondence - business
Box 5 Adult Education Association of the U.S.A., National Association of Professors of Continuing and Adult Education, American Association for Adult and Continuing Education, January 1968-July 1982
Box 5 American Council on Education November 1965-February 1973
Commission of Professors of Adult Education
Box 5 December 1959-December 1963
Box 5 January 1964-December 1965
Box 5 January 1966-December 1968
Box 5 January 1969-November 1975
Box 68 Fan letters
Box 5 Girl Scouts of the United States of America January 1964-November 1972
Box 5 Letters to and from Knowles about his book, Materials and methods in adult education 1972-1975
Box 5 Letters to and from Knowles about his book, Informal education January 1961-December 1964
Box 6 Letters to and from Knowles about his book, Modern practice of adult education June 1968-July 1973
Box 6 National Academy for Health Inservice Education July 1970-February 1972
Correspondence - personal
Box 6 1951-1959
Box 6 July 1960-December 1966
Box 6 January-December 1967
Box 6 January-December 1968
Box 6 January-June 1969
Box 6 July-December 1969
Box 7 January-June 1970
Box 7 July-December 1970
Box 7 January-December 1971
Box 7 January-March 1972
Box 7 April-June 1972
Box 7 July-September 1972
Box 7 October-December 1972
Box 8 January-March 1973
Box 8 April-June 1973
Box 8 July-September 1973
Box 8 October-December 1973
Box 8 January-June 1974
Box 8 July-September 1974
Box 8 October-November 1974
Box 8 December 1974
Box 9 January-March 1975
Box 9 April-June 1975
Box 9 July 1975
Box 9 August-September 1975
Box 9 October-December 1975
Box 10 January-February 1976
Box 10 March-April 1976
Box 10 May-August 1976
Box 10 September-December 1976
Box 10 January-March 1977
Box 10 April-June 1977
Box 11 July-September 1977
Box 11 October-December 1977
Box 11 January 1978
Box 11 February 1978
Box 11 March-June 1978
Box 11 July-September 1978
Box 11 October-November 1978
Box 12 December 1978
Box 12 January-February 1979
Box 12 March-April 1979
Box 12 May-June 1979
Box 12 July-September 1979
Box 12 October-December 1979
Box 12 January-March 1980
Box 12 April-June 1980
Box 13 July-September 1980
Box 13 October-December 1980
Box 13 January-February 1981
Box 13 March-April 1981
Box 13 May-June 1981
Box 13 July-September 1981
Box 14 October-December 1981
Box 14 January-March 1982
Box 14 April-June 1982
Box 14 July-September 1982
Box 14 October-December 1982
Box 14 January-March 1983
Box 15 April-June 1983
Box 15 July-September 1983
Box 15 October-December 1983
Box 15 January-March 1984
Box 15 April-June 1984
Box 15 July-December 1984
Box 16 January-June 1985
Box 16 July-December 1985
Meetings files
Academy for Educational Development
Box 16 Conference on the significance of the biomedical and the social sciences in understanding the aging process 1976
Adult Education Association of Massachusetts
Box 16 Program 1972
Box 16 Annual conference on learning strategies for adult education 1971
Adult Education Association of the U.S.A.
Box 16 Ad Hoc Committee of Adult Education Organizations 1966
Annual
Box 16 1967
Box 16 1968
Box 16 1970
Box 16 1971
Box 16 1972
Box 16 1973
Box 16 1974
Box 16 1975
Box 16 1976
Box 16 1977
Box 17 1978
Box 17 1979
Box 17 1980
Box 17 1982
Box 17 Committee on Professional Standards in Adult Education 1968
Box 17 Consultation on classification problems in organizing adult education libraries and clearinghouses 1966
Box 17 Council of National Organizations 1958
Delegate Assembly
Box 17 1954
Box 17 1955
Box 17 1957
Box 17 1958
Executive Committee
Box 17 1951
Box 17 1956 (2 folders)
Box 17 1960
Box 17 Publication Committee 1976-1978
Box 17 2nd Executive Committee 1976
Adult education research conference
Box 17 1970
Box 17 1972
Box 17 Adventures in learning today's world 1974
American Alumni Council - Fund for Adult Education
Box 17 Shoreham conference on continuing education for alumni 1956
American Management Association
Box 17 Management of human resources through behavioral sciences 1970
American Medical Writers Association
Box 17 40th Annual 1980
American Psychiatric Association
Box 17 Committee on Continuing Education 1974
American Society for Training and Development
Box 17 Professional Development Committee 1975-1978
Box 17 24th National Conference 1968
Arizona State University
Box 18 Department of Higher and Adult Education - Higher and Adult Education Alumni Board Professional continuing education conference 1980
Box 18 Graduate Program in Adult Education & Arizona Adult Education Association
Box 18 Spring conference 1972
Association of Southern Baptist Colleges and Schools
Box 18 Annual 1973
Association of University Evening Colleges
Box 18 Conference of adult education organizations 1965
Association of Volunteer Bureaus, Inc.
Box 18 25th Anniversary & Annual Conference 1976
Castleton State College
Box 18 Andragogy conference 1971
Coalition of Adult Education Organizations
Box 18 Wingspread Conference 1976
Commission of Professors of Adult Education
Box 18 Ann Arbor Conference 1957
Annual
Box 18 1961
Box 18 1964
Box 18 1965
Box 18 1966
Box 18 1967
Box 18 1968
Box 18 1969
Box 18 1970
Box 18 1971
Box 18 1972
Box 19 1974
Box 19 1975
Box 19 1976
Box 19 1978
Box 19 1982
Box 19 Business 1964
Box 19 Continuity Committee 1961
Box 19 East Lansing Conference 1960
Executive Committee
Box 19 1965
Box 19 1966
Box 19 1966
Box 19 Connecticut conference on adult and higher education 1972
Connecticut Nurses' Association
Box 19 Convention 1971
Continuing Education Council
Box 19 Accrediting Commission 1974-1976
Continuing Library Education Network and Exchange
Box 19 1st Assembly 1976
Corporation for Public Broadcasting
Box 19 Adult education 1972
Council of Professional Organizations of the American Society of Allied Health Professions
Box 19 Invitational conference on continuing education for health professional organizations 1978
Council on Social Work Education
Box 19 18th Annual 1971
Council on the Continuing Education Unit
Box 19 4th Annual 1982
Episcopal Church
Box 19 General convention 1969
Florida Junior College at Jacksonville
Box 20 Adult and continuing education in-service training conference 1970
Florida State Department of Education
Vocational, technical and adult educators' conference
Box 20 2nd Annual 1969
Box 20 Galaxy Conference 1969
General Board of Lay Activities of the Methodist Church
Box 20 Consultation on the laity 1967
Growth Associates
Box 20 National conference on self-directed professional development 1977
Harvard University - Graduate School of Education
Box 20 Closing the gap: higher education and the low income adult 1974
Human Resources Development
Box 20 9th Annual HRD college for trainers 1982
International Congress of University Adult Education
Box 20 Executive Committee 1964
World (or International) conference
Box 20 1st 1965
Box 20 2nd 1970
Box 20 3rd 1972
International Federation of Training and Development Organizations
Box 20 4th Interamerican symposium on training development 1976
Box 20 6th International conference on training and development of human resources 1977
Box 20 11th International training and development world congress 1982
Johns Hopkins University - Evening College
Box 20 Task Force for Community Service and Continuing Education 1972-1974
Kentucky Educational Television
Box 20, 21 General education development project 1972-1973 (2 folders)
Box 21 Learning community programme for staff development & training officers in Africa 1982
Liberal Religious Education Directors Association
Box 21 Annual fall conference 1965
Massachusetts Board of Higher Education - Advisory Council on Continuing Education
Box 21 Massachusetts adult education planning conference 1968
Massachusetts Department of Correction, Mental Health, and Public Health
Box 21 Governor's conference on nursing utilization 1967
Merrimack Education Center
Box 21 Local school planning conference 1970
Box 21 Montana adult education conference 1971
Mead Johnson - Nutritional Division
Box 21 Educational process in neonatal care 1980-1981
National Academy for Health Inservice Education
Box 21 Board of Directors 1971
Box 21 Executive Committee 1970
Box 21 National Association of Professors of Continuing and Adult Education - Adult Education Association of the U.S.A. Joint conference 1971
National Council of the Churches of Christ
Box 21 Consultation on the place of evaluation in program development 1966
National Council on the Aging, Inc.
Box 21 Symposium and Advisory Board 1981
National Defense University
Box 21 Board of Visitors 1979-1981
National Health Care Management Center - Wharton School
Box 21 National conference on management development in health care 1980
National Institute of Mental Health - Division of Manpower and Training Programs
Box 21 Ad Hoc Advisory Committee 1969
Box 21 Continuing Education Training Review Committee 1972
Box 21 11th Annual conference 1972
National Institute of Mental Health - North Carolina Department of Mental Health
Box 21 4th Annual 1968
National League for Nursing - National Student Nurses Association
Box 21 Convention 1971
National Seminar on Adult Education Research
Box 22 1966
Box 22 1968
Box 22 10th Annual 1969
National University Extension Association
Box 22 Region III 1971
New England Hospital Assembly
Box 22 45th Annual 1966
New England Reading Association
Box 22 21st Annual conference 1969
New York Association for Continuing Education - Association for Adult Education of New Jersey
Box 22 Spring conference 1974
New York State Education Department - Office of Doctoral Project
Box 22 Rating Committee 1980
North American Conference on Adult Education
Box 22 1st 1967
North Carolina Adult Education Association
Box 22 Annual conference 1974
North Carolina State University
Box 22 Professional Growth and Development Committee 1974
Northeastern University - University College
Box 22 Adult education conference 1970
Ontario Camping Association
Box 22 Conference 1968
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
Department of Adult Education
Box 22 Nature of the DHR specialization 1971
Department of Curriculum Development
Box 22 Staff conference 1970
Phi Delta Kappa
Commission on Lifelong Learning
Box 22 1974
Box 22 1975
Personnel and Management Services
Box 22 Committee on Professional Education 1969
Polaroid Corporation
Box 22 Management Development Committee 1969
Box 22 Professional Development and Growth Committee 1974
ROCOM - Division of Hoffmann-LaRoche, Inc.
Box 22 Advisory Panel on Multimedia Instructional System 1970-1975 (2 folders)
Rutgers University
Center of Alcohol Studies
Box 22 Subcommittee on Teaching and Training 1973-1974
Box 23 Evening Extension Division
Box 23 Biennial Retreat 1973
Service-Learning Resource Center
Box 23 North Carolina assembly on service learning 1977
Southeastern Library Association
Box 23 26th Biennial conference 1974
Southern Regional Education Board - Adult Basic Education - Staff Development Project - Southeastern Region
Box 23 Planning of in-service workshops 1971
State University of New York
Division of Continuing Education
Box 23 50th Anniversary conference 1973
Evening and Extension Division
Box 23 4th Annual conference 1967
Systems Management Corporation
Box 23 Conference for the National Advisory Committee for the project to develop a preliminary manual of terminology about adult/continuing education 1970-1971
Undergraduate Teaching Improvement Council
Box 23 Conference on the changing student population 1981
United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
Institute for Education
Box 23 Lifelong learning consultation 1972
Box 23 International symposium on ways and means of strengthening information and counseling services for adult learners 1977
Box 23 3rd International conference on adult education 1972
Box 23 Youth day for human rights 1982
United States Department of Agriculture - University of Georgia - College of Agriculture
Box 23 Conference for new extension personnel 1975
United States Department of Health, Education, and Welfare
Box 23 Professors of adult education research conference 1964
Box 23 White House conference on aging 1961
University of Connecticut - School of Education
Box 23 State conference for adult educators 1970
University of Delaware - Division of Continuing Education
Box 23 Ad Hoc Committee on Adult/Continuing Education 1974
University of Maryland - Conferences and Institutes Division
Box 23 Statewide conference on the future of community services/continuing education in Maryland higher educational institutions 1974
University of Pennsylvania - National Health Care Center
Box 24 National conference on management development in health care 1980
University of Rhode Island
Box 24 Evaluation of New England project on education for the aging 1969
University of Texas - Texas Educational Media Program - Texas Education Agency - KLRN-TV
Box 24 Catalyst for adult learning symposium 1972
University of the West Indies - Department of Extra-Mural Studies
Box 24 Caribbean conference on agricultural extension 1966
Veterans Administration
Box 24 31st Interagency institute and the 38th Hospital institute for federal hospital administrators 1968
Virginia Commonwealth University - School of Nursing
Box 24 National conference on continuing education for nurses 1969
Virginia Council of Churches
Box 24 Conference on the future of church education 1974
Virginia Polytechnic Institute - Donaldson Brown Center for Continuing Education
Box 24 Successful continuing programs 1980
Vocational, technical and adult education
Box 24 Annual 1973
Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education
Box 24 11th annual training institute for psychiatrist-teachers of practicing physicians 1971
Wichita State University - Action Training Service
Box 24 Continuing education conference for ATS consultants and associated personnel 1974
Young Men's Christian Association
Organization Development Project
Box 24 Planning Committee 1962
Box 24 Staff 1962
Providence Central
Box 24 Annual 1969
Training Institute on Interracial Advance
Box 24 Conference 1964
Young Women's Christian Association
Box 24 Joint planning conference 1970
Young Men's Christian Association of Canada
National Council
Box 24 11th H-Y assembly 1964
Box 24 Staff conference 1968
Box 24 Staff meeting 1967
Young Presidents' Organization
Box 24 18th International university for presidents 1968
Photographs
Box 25 Commission of Professors of Adult Education ca. late 1950's
Box 25 Reception in honor of Malcolm S. and Hulda Knowles, and his 1974 graduates 1974
Printed material
Box 25 Adult and continuing education research project, by Arthur L. Johnson 1973
Box 25 Adult contemporary instructional guide 1976
Box 25 Adult education and the school, by J.R. Kidd 1952
Adult Education Association of the U.S.A.
Box 25 Adult education newsletter, v. 1, no. 1 1951
Box 25 AEA/USA reporter, Issue 1 1977
Box 25 Proposal to the W.K. Kellogg Foundation 1981
Box 25 Student-professor get acquainted evaluation results 1966
Box 25 Working paper for a long-run plan of development 1953
Adult Education Association of Virginia
Box 25 AEAV news, no. 2 1977
Box 25 Adult education: current trends and practices 1949
Box 25 Adult education for the 1970's: promise or illusion, by Jack London ca. 1973
Box 25 Adult education in France, by Colin J. Titmus ca. 1968
Box 25 Adult education in Germany: bibliography, by Armin L. Schadt undated
Box 25 Adult education in public school systems 1968-69 and 1969-70, by Imogene E. Okes 1974
Box 25 Adult education in the modern university, by Special Committee of the National University Extension Association 1949
Box 25 Adult education services of the state departments of education, by John B. Holden 1959
Box 25 Adult education staff development: selected issues, alternatives and implications, ed. by George E. Spear 1976
Box 25 Adult education: state demographic data, by National Advisory Council on Adult Education 1973
Box 25 Adult leadership: study of subscribers and their reactions to the magazine 1953
Box 25 Adult learner and ERIC: new vistas for research, by John A. Niemi and Daniel C. Jessen undated
Box 25 Adult learning activities: handbook of terminology for classifying and describing the learning activities of adults (draft 6) 1978
Box 26 Adult learning in America: examining Eduard Lindeman's agenda for lifelong education (proposed title and draft), by David W. Stewart 1985
Box 26 Adult learning: issues and innovations, ed. by Robert M. Smith 1976
Box 26 Adult learning projects: study of adult learning in urban and rural Tennessee, by John M. Peters and R. Susan Gordon 1974
Box 26 Adult performance level research and curriculum design, by Sam V. Dauzat undated
Box 26 Adult program section of Associations of Secretaries, YMCA's of North America, Adult program digest, v. 18, no. 1 1955
Box 26 Adult and continuing education today, v. 8, no. 23 1978
Box 26 Advertisements undated
Box 26 Aerospace Corporation Orbiter, v. 15 1975
Box 26 Agenda of research on lifelong learning during adulthood from future directions for a learning society 1978
Box 26 Alternatives for staff development of adult educators, by Florida adult educators undated
American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education
Box 26 Doctorate in education, v. 2: Institutions, by Harold E. Moore, John H. Russel and Donald G. Ferguson 1960
American Association of Fund-Raising Counsel
Box 26 Bulletin, v. 7, quarterly 1961
American Association of Junior Colleges
Box 26 Community services forum, v.2, no. 4 1970
American Library Association
Box 26 ALA bulletin 1954
Box 26 Library Community Projects manuscripts 1956, 1957, 1959
American Society for Training and Development
Professional Development Committee
Box 26 Papers and reports 1975-1978 (2 folders)
Box 27 Study of professional training and development roles and competencies, by Patrick R. Pinto, Ph.D. and James W. Walker, Ph.D. 1978
Box 27 Triangle trainer, v. 9, no. 10 1981
Box 27 Americans volunteer 1969
Box 27 Analysis of MAT scores vs. performance for adult and higher ed graduates (Ed.D.) undated
Box 27 Andragogy: a new science, by Ger van Enckevort ca. 1971
Box 27 Annual handbook for group facilitators, selections 1974
Box 27 Aontas review, v. 1, no. 1 1979
Box 27 Archdiocese of Chicago - Center for Adult Learning, v. 3, no. 4 1974
Architecture and adult education pamphlets and articles
Articles by Knowles
Box 27 1929
Box 27 1946, 1949
Box 27 1950-1955
Box 27 1956-1959
Box 27 1960-1963
Box 27 1964-1967
Box 27 1968
Box 28 1969
Box 28 1970
Box 28 1971
Box 28 1972
Box 28 1973
Box 28 1974
Box 28 1975
Box 28 1976
Box 28 1977
Box 28 1978
Box 28 1979
Box 28 1980
Box 28 1981
Box 29 1982
Box 29 1983
Box 29 undated
Box 29 Articles on communication by Everett M. Rogers 1970's
Box 29 Assessing and reporting training needs and progress 1956
Box 29 Assessment papers
Association of Voluntary Action Scholars
Box 29 AVAS newsletter - v. 4, no. 1; v. 5, no. 1, 4; v. 6, no. 1, 3 1976, 1977, 1978
Atlanta University - School of Nursing
Box 29 Curriculum and concept of autonomous social worker 1972-1974
Box 29 Attempt to document research and training in adult education, by J.H. Knoll 1972
Box 29 Auerbach Publications 1981-1982
Box 29 Back to school: college guide for adults (book outline), by William C. Haponski and Charles E. McCabe 1981
Box 29 Belchertown State School proposal, by Professor Karl J. Larson 1967
Box 29 Bibliography on adult education 1960
Box 29 Bibliography: reform and innovation in graduate education, by Malcolm S. Knowles 1978
Box 29 Birth of an idea: women's continuing education: account of its genesis, by Elizabeth L. Cless 1975
Boston University
Box 29 Bostonia 1964
Graduate Program in Adult and Higher Education
Box 29 Adult education collection master bibliography 1967-1978
School of Education
Box 29 Alumni news, v. 4, no. 14 1969
Box 29 Community newsletter, v. 1, no. 4 1973-1974
Department of System Development and Adaptation
Box 30 Doctoral student handbook 1973
WGBH
Leadership Training Project
Box 30 Final report 1962
Box 30 Dynamics of leadership viewer study guides 1961, 1963
Brandon Sun
Box 30 Adult education: new technique required, says professor, by Wayne Boyce ca. 1978
Box 30 Buffalo studies, v. 2, no. 1 1966
Box 30 Canadian journal of university continuing education, v. 4, no. 1, 2 1977-1978
Box 30 Career and educational counseling needs of adults: overview of the relevant literature, by Betty E. Knox 1977
Box 30 Career and vocational counseling pamphlets and articles
Box 30 Career education: handbook for implementation 1972
Box 30 Carnegie Corporation of New York
Box 30 Carnegie quarterly, v. 17, no. 4 1969
CEGOS
Club animateur
Box 30 Quelques indications concernant l'utilisation des "contrats de formation" (learning contracts) dans la formation basée sur l'expérience, by Malcolm S. Knowles ca. 1979
Box 30 L’évolution des méthodes pédagogiques dans la formation des adultes (evolution of teaching methods in adult training) 1979
Les documents de l'association CEGOS
Box 30 Les différents types de pédagogie : leur application à la formation des adultes dans l'enterprise, by Henri Fraisse 1979
Box 30 Une approche nouvelle de la formation des vendeurs, by Marc Corcos 1979
Box 30 Center for a Voluntary Society proposal 1972
Central YMCA Community College
Box 30 News release 1975
Box 30 Chapter selections from untitled book about values, by Don Ehet 1982
Chicago Public Schools - Americanization and Adult Education Division
Box 30 Adult education news - v. 2, no. 1 1948-1949
Citizen participation and voluntary action abstracts
Box 30 v. 1 no. 1; v. 2, no. 1; v. 3, no. 1, 2; v. 4, no. 1-3; v. 5, no. 2-3
Citizen Participation - North Carolina Office Journal
v. 1, no. 6, 7; v. 2, no. 2 1975, 1976
Cleveland State University - College of Education - Department of Educational Specialists
Post-secondary education 1978-1979
Box 30 Cognitive style, learning style, and transfer skill acquisition, by Patricia Kirby 1979
College Board - Research Advisory Panel on Lifelong Learning of the Future Directions for a Learning Society Project
Box 30 Papers on needed research and derivation activity
Box 30 Colombia and higher education undated
Columbia University - Teachers College
Box 30 Final report on Ed.D. and Ph.D. in adult and continuing education, by New York State Department of Education - Office of the Doctoral Project - Rating Committee 1979
Commission of Professors of Adult Education
Box 30 Careers in adult and continuing education 1968
Box 31 Newsletter 1975, 1977-1980
Box 31 Progress report 1967
Box 31 Skill bank report 1969
Box 31 What's new 1972-1973
Communication Research Center
Box 31 CRC newsletter, v. 6, no. 1 1967
Community Treatment Project
Box 31 After five years undated
Evaluation of community treatment for delinquents
Box 31 5th progress report 1966
Box 31 6th progress report 1967
Box 31 7th progress report 1968
Box 31 Overview of matching, by Ted Palmer 1968
Report series
Box 31 no. 1 1967
Box 31 no. 1-3, 5 1969
Box 31 Comparison of the effectiveness of the actuarial total and subpart scores of the gessel copy form test as predictors of school success, by Alexander J. Popovics 1972
Box 31 Competency model revisions
Box 31 Continuing education: bridging the information gap 1975
Box 32 Continuing education: evolving form of adult education undated
Box 32 Continuing education for business, by Dr. Max G. Cooley 1979
Box 32 Continuing education in Massachusetts: state programs for the '70s, by Melvin R. Levin and Joseph S. Slavet 1970
Continuing education in New Zealand
Box 32 v. 6, no. 2; v. 8, no. 1 1974, 1976
Box 32 Continuing education pamphlet and report 1976-1978
Continuing Library Education Network and Exchange
Box 32 CLENE exchange, v. 1, no. 1-4 1975-1976
Box 32 Continuing medical education in your future, by Richard M. Caplan, M.D. 1971
Box 32 Continuous and integrated education of the adult as observed in industrial education programs, by R. Rowray undated
Box 32 Contributors to a discipline of adult education: review and analysis of the publications of Coolie Verner, by Gary Dickinson 1979
Cooperative Extension Service - Montana State University, Bozeman
Box 32 Reservation agent, v. 2, no. 9 1971
Coppin State College
Box 32 Courier, v. 6, no. 8 1974
Corporation for Public Broadcasting - Adult Learning Program Service
Box 32 Papers and report on ALPS One 1972
Box 32 Cost and output of graduate social work education: exploratory study 1970
Council of Graduate Schools in the United States
Box 32 Requirements for the Ph.D. 1979
Council on Social Work Education
Division on Standards and Accreditation
Box 32 Undergraduate social work programs guide for site visits 1971
Box 32 Exchange, no. 1 1970
Box 32 Counseling papers and reports
Box 32 Criteria in learning research, by King M. Wientge and Philip H. DuBois 1966
CRM/McGraw-Hill Films
Box 33 On the job coaching 1977-1979
Box 33 Cumulative index of ERIC resources in counseling and personnel services 1967-1976, by Garry R. Walz, Libby Benjamin and Marc E. Ruby 1977
Box 33 Current action principles and concepts from research and theory in adult learning and development, by Robert A. Fox
Box 33 Current research needs related to systematic learning by adults, by Alan B. Knox 1977
Box 33 Cutting edge group, by Anne Hillman 1985
Box 33 Data Education, Inc. proposal undated
Box 33 Degree research in adult education in Canada: 1968-March 1969, by James A. Draper, John A. Niemi and Claude Touchette 1969
Delta Kappa Gamma
Box 33 Bulletin, v. 45, no. 3 1979
Box 33 Design and implementation of adult education experiences: conversation with Malcolm Knowles, by Roger Boshier, ca. 1977
Box 33 Developing a market strategy model for continuing education programs, Chapter 2 - Developing the model from the literature, by Andrew M. Brown 1984
Box 33 Development and improvement of adult educational programs, by Cyril O. Houle undated
Box 33 Development of adult education in Japan 1966
Box 33 Diagnostic guides undated
Box 33 Differences between teaching adults and pre-adults: some propositions and findings, by Harold W. Beder and Gordon G. Darkenwald undated
Box 33 Directions in healthcare education & training, v. 7, no. 3 1982
Box 33 Directory of consultants for planning adult learning systems, facilities and environments 1973-1974, by Adult Education Association of the U.S.A.
Box 33 Directory of information resources in the United States: social sciences, by National Referral Center for Science and Technology 1965
Box 34 Directory of residential continuing education centers in the United States and Canada 1963-1964, 1965
Box 34 Directory of resources for the education of adults 1978-1979, by J. Nevin Robbins, Darlene L. Sork with Ted Brunell and Sheila Rosen 1978
Box 34 Distinguished adult educators explore issues/trends/strategies in adult/continuing education, ed. by S. Gregory Bowes 1978
DuPont Company - Clinical Systems Division
Box 34 Learning systems papers and pamphlets undated
Box 34 Eduard Lindeman and the idea of lifelong learning in America (book proposal), by David W. Stewart ca. 1983
Educating the adult educator
Box 34 Part 1: Concepts of the curriculum, by Burton W. Kreitlow 1965
Box 34 Part 2: Taxonomy of needed research, by Burton W. Kreitlow 1968
Box 34 Education and the development of human technology, by Kenneth L. Neff 1962
Box 34 Education course outlines 1976-1978
Box 34 Education material catalogs undated
Box 34 Education of adults in U.S.S.R., by Ferdinand Herz 1975
Box 34 Educational ethos of the midwestern high school, by Herbert A. Thelen 1974
Box 34 Educational orientation, assessment and rating scales 1970's
Box 34 Educational researcher, v. 8, no. 3 1979
Box 34 Educational Resources Center, Inc. proposal 1972
Educational Resources Information Center
Clearinghouse on Adult, Career, and Vocational Education
Box 34 Information series, no. 172, 173 1979
Counseling and Personnel Services
Box 34 Searchlight: relevant resources in high interest areas, no. 8, 11, 12, 22C, 24, 33 1966-1977
Box 34 Effect of extension service's youth nutrition lesson series on behavioral change in EFNEP youth utilizing different educational environments and teachers (executive summary), by Estelle E. White, Edgar J. Boone and Robert J. Monroe 1976
Box 34 Emergent practices in the continuing education of school administrators, by Frank W. Lutz and Reynolds Ferrante 1972
Box 34 Emerging education policy issues in law: public-private competition in higher education, by Stuart A. Sandow 1971
Box 34 Enhancing the application of adult learning principles to continuing education of health professionals 1978
Box 35 Enhancing your proficiencies in the design and facilitation of adult literacy education, by George Aker, Ruth Spaulding, Rosemary Adams, and B.B. White 1984
Box 35 Enrollments in the '80s: factors, actors and impacts, by J. Victor Baldridge, Frank R. Kemerer and Kenneth C. Green 1982
Box 35 Entrepreneurship and management in the years ahead, by David C. McClelland 1977
ERIC
Clearinghouse on Adult Education
Box 35 Information analysis series advertisement ca. 1977
Search Service
Box 35 Specification and query listing 1972
Box 35 Evaluation guide for college women's re-entry programs, by Jack Mezirow and Amy D. Rose 1978
Box 35 Evaluation forms
Box 35 Evaluation of adult and continuing education 1971-1985
Box 35 Exchange: organizational behavior teaching journal, v. 8, no. 3, 4 1983
Box 35 Expanded food and nutrition education program (EFNEP)...accomplishments and future needs, by Nancy B. Leidenfrost 1975
Box 35 Experiment with group self-directed learning: learning-teaching team, by Malcolm S. Knowles undated
Box 35 Experiment with the teacher-learning team: group self-directed learning in undergraduate education, by Eugene E. DuBois 1971
Box 35 Explorations: human relations training and research, no. 1, 2 1967
Box 35 Facilities for study in the arts in Canada, by Canadian Cultural Information Centre 1962
Box 35 Factors associated with the achievement of adult students, by King M. Wientge and Philip H. DuBois 1964
Box 35 Federal activities in support of adult education, by National Advisory Council on Adult Education 1972
Box 36 Federal support for adult education: directory of programs and services 1966
Box 36 Field of operations in adult education, by Malcolm S. Knowles undated
Box 36 Financing adult education in selected schools and community colleges, by Homer Kempfer and William R. Wood 1952
Box 36 Florida State University - Department of Adult Education proposal 1969
Box 36 La formation aux U.S.A. : résultats d'un voyage effectué par la CEGOS, by Henri Fraisse ca. 1979
Box 36 Formation of the learning community, by Sunny Robinson 1969-1970
Foxmoor Casual Retail Stores
Box 36 Field management development program 1978
Box 36 General theory of the doctorate in education and a special theory of the Ed.D. with a specialization in adult education, by Malcolm S. Knowles undated
Box 36 Gifted underachievers: follow-up study of four types of treatment, by Thomas J. Mallinson 1964
Girl Scouts of the United States of America
Box 36 Leadership workbooks 1969
Box 36 Group home project: exploration into the use of group homes for delinquents in a differential treatment setting, by John W. Pearson 1970
Box 36 Group services in public welfare: guides for administration and program development, by Harleigh B. Trecker 1964
Box 36 Guide to studies in adult education 1966-1967, compiled by C.D. Legge ca. 1967
Box 36 Guidelines for contributors to adult education, 4th ed. 1970
Box 36 Guidelines for the proposal writer 1968
Box 36 Guidelines for the volunteer coordinator, by Betty H. Wiser and Emerson H. Snipes 1972
Harvard University - Medical School - Department of Psychiatry
Box 36 Laboratory of community psychiatry 1969
Box 36 How to assess the needs of community instructional services, by George F. Aker and Richard W. Kemerer 1980
Box 36 How to close the gap in human performance, by James F. Bolt and Geary A. Rummler 1982
Box 36 Humanistic education and human services network newsletter 1984
Box 36 I can: volunteer development workbook, by American Red Cross undated
Box 36 It happens when we get there: conversations with teachers in Alaskan village, by David Beers 1978
Box 36 Identification of program priorities in continuing dental education 1978
Box 37 Improving teaching effectiveness 1970
Box 37 Informal paper for Dr. Malcolm Knowles, by Donald R. McNeil 1967
Institute for Strategic Studies
Box 37 Community development bulletin, v. 2, no. 1 1965
Box 37 Interchange, v. 3, no. 1 1972
International Congress of University Adult Education
Journal
Box 37 v. 7, no. 2, 3; v. 8, no. 1; v. 9, nos. 1, 3; v. 10, nos. 1-3; v. 11, no. 1/2 1968, 1969, 1970, 1971, 1972, (2 folders)
Newsletter
Box 37 nos. 3, 8, 9 1963, 1968-1969
Box 37 International educational and cultural exchange, v. 4, no. 1-3 1968-1969
Box 37 International journal of career and continuing education, v. 1, no. 1 1975
Box 37 International journal of continuing education and training, v. 3, no. 3/4 1974
Box 37 Interscholastic athletic administration, v. 3, no. 1 1976
Japan - Council of Social Education
Box 37 On the promotion of university extension, by Shunsaku Kawahara 1964
Box 37 Job competence assessment: defining the attributes of the top performer, by George O. Klemp, Jr. 1982
Johns Hopkins University - Evening College
Box 37 Assessing experiential learning and professional change agentry educational needs 1975
Box 38 Community competencies and concepts: outcomes of a study to determine training needs of community change agents undated
Box 38 Final evaluation of community change competencies 1974
Box 38 Hopkins fellows in organizational and community systems proposal 1975
Box 38 Nocturne, v. 1, no. 1 1973
Box 38 Journal of process design proposed plan 1971
Journal of voluntary action research
Box 38 v. 5, no. 2; v. 6, no. 3-4; Indices 1976, 1977
Box 38 Kenya journal of adult education, v. 3, no. 2 1974
Leadership Resources, Inc. - Program for Supervisors of Disadvantaged Employees
Box 38 Resource person's guide 1968
Box 38 Leadership training program for selected African health specialists, by H. Curtis Mial 1966
Box 38 Learning connection, v. 1, no. 1 1980
Box 38 Learning environment and adult education papers undated
Box 38 Learning for living reports 1961
Box 38 Learning in an open society: credit for experience, ed. by Robert J. Barak and Roger S. McCannon 1975
Box 38 Learning opportunities for adults: literature review, v. 1, by JoAn S. Segal 1977
Box 38 Let's teach adults, prepared by a group of adult educators 1954
Life Office Management Association
Box 38 Education pamphlets 1972-1973
Box 38 Life planning for women, by Kitty Hunter undated
Box 39 Lifelong education and the school: abstracts and bibliography, by R.H. Dave and N. Stiemerling 1973
Box 39 Life-span developmental psychology, by Louise A. Casey 1974
Box 39 List of institutions and individuals active in university adult education, by International Congress of University Adult Education undated
Box 39 Malvern learning exchange 1978
Box 39 Managerial behavior and participation in a laboratory training process, by Fred I. Steele, Dale E. Zand and Sheldon S. Zalkind 1970
Box 39 Managerial learning laboratory: changes in values and performance during and after training, by Ernest M. Schuttenberg 1968
Box 39 Mandatory continuing education for professional nurse relicensure: what are the issues, by Barbara J. Stevens 1973
Massachusetts Association of Public School Adult Educators
Box 39 Contact, v. 4, no. 3 1970
Box 39 Matthew Paris, medieval chronicler and historian, honors thesis by Malcolm S. Knowles 1934
McBer and Company - Institute for Competency Assessment
Box 39 Competency reports and papers
Box 39 Higher education consortium on assessment 1977
Box 39 Test materials 1976
Box 39 McGraw-Hill catalogs 1977
Medical Television Network - Educational Program
Box 39 Life cycle undated
Box 39 Methodology for describing federal programs that support adult learning opportunities, by G. Roger Sell and JoAn S. Segal 1977
Box 39 Miscellaneous adult education papers
Missouri Adult Education Association, Inc.
Box 40 News exchange, v. 1, no. 3 1973
Box 40 Model (based upon open systems organizational theory) for continuing educational needs assessment in continuing professional education programs, by Paul E. Masmanian
Box 40 Model for program planning in adult education, by James R. LaForest 1973
Box 40 Model of group adaptation to organizational change in communication networks, by Arthur M. Cohen 1965
Box 40 Models and ideas about changing, by Robert Chin 1963
Modern practice of adult education
Box 40 Notes and outlines undated
Box 40 Reviews 1970-1972
Mountain Plains Adult Education Association
Box 40 Journal of adult education, v. 11, no. 1, 2 1982-1983
National Academy for Health Inservice Education
Box 40 Inservice ideas, v. 1, no. 1 1971
Box 40 Inservice education: most promising manpower resources is the manpower that's already there 1970
National Advisory Council for Career Education
Box 40 Career education publications 1977
National Association for Mental Health
Box 40 Design for staff development, by Kathryn Oliphant 1973
National Association of Professors of Continuing and Adult Education
Box 40 Administrators swap shop, v. 16, no. 6 1975
Box 40 National Board on Graduate Education final report 1975
Box 40 National Center for Educational Brokering publications
National Clearinghouse for Alcohol Information of the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
Box 40 Alcohol and health notes 1973
National Council on Adult Education
Box 40 Working party on training of continuing educators report 1977
Box 40 National Education Finance Project special study 1970
National Institute of Mental Health - Division of Manpower and Training Programs - Continuing Education Grants Program
Box 40 Guides and checklists for site visits 1971-1972
Box 40 Objectives, priorities and guidelines 1971-1972
Box 40 National laboratory for higher education 1970
National longitudinal study of the high school class of 1972
Box 40 Capsule description of first follow-up survey data 1976
Box 40 Changes in attitudes one and one-half years after graduation 1975
Box 40 Comparative profiles one and one-half years after graduation 1975
Box 40 National organizations and voluntary associations with adult education concerns in the United States 1971
Box 40 National security affairs monograph series, no. 8 1980
National Student Nurses Association
Box 40 Imprint, v. 18, no. 1 1971
National Technical Assistance Consortium for Two-Year Colleges
Box 40 Acction quarterly review, v. 4, no. 2 1978
National Training and Development Service
Box 40 National news, v. 3, no. 4 1975
National University Extension Association
Box 40 NUEA newsletter, v. 5, no. 22 1972
Box 41 New career models for future psychiatrists, by Raquel E. Cohen, M.D. undated
Box 41 New Jersey State Department of Health – Alcohol Education Resource Unit undated
New Tools for Learning
Box 41 Guide to films, pamphlets and recordings for teachers, speakers and discussion leaders 1943
New York State
Board of Regents - Commission on Doctoral Education
Box 41 Meeting the needs of doctoral education in New York State 1973
Education Department - Rating Committee
Office of Doctoral Project
Box 41 Report and recommendations to commissioner of education 1979-1980
Box 41 Study of adult education 1974-1976
Box 41 News journal 1978
Box 41 NM (New management), v. 1, no. 3 1984
Box 41 No-nonsense communication supplement, by Donald L. Kirkpatrick undated
Box 41 Non-credit activities in institutions of higher education for the year ending June 30 1976, by Florence B. Kemp 1978
Box 41 Non-degree research in adult education in Canada 1968
North Carolina Educational Information Centers
Box 41 Explore 1981
North Carolina State University
Agricultural Experiment Station
Box 41 Technical bulletin, no. 248, 249 1976
Agricultural Extension Service
Box 41 Extension news, v. 61, no 1 1974
Alumni Association
Box 41 NCSU alumni news, v. 47, no. 2 1974
Department of Adult and Community College Education
Box 41 Bibliography of doctoral dissertations 1967-1974
Box 41 Master bibliography, ed. by Malcolm S. Knowles 1977-1978
Urban Affairs Center
Box 41 Center policy on staff development, by Jack Fritz undated
Box 41 North Carolina: today and tomorrow, by James A. Christenson 1975-1976
Northwest Adult Education Association
Box 41 NWAEA notes, no. 7 1970
Box 41 Nursing digest 1973-1974
Box 41 Observation process for decision making undated
Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
Department of Adult Education
Box 41 Renewal 1970
Box 41 Report 1968
Box 41 Organization of community groups in support of the planning process and code enforcement administration, by Robert E. Knittel, Ph.D. 1970
Box 41 Organizational development: fantasy or reality, by Leslie E. This 1969
Box 41 Overview and history of the field, by Cyril O. Houle 1957
Box 41 Overview of adult education research proposal 1979
Panhandle Area Educational Cooperative
Box 41 Teacher education module catalog undated
Box 41 Paradoxes in research administration, by Warren C. Lathrop 1959
Box 41 Parent education- curriculums, methods and materials, by Milton Babitz 1961
Box 42 Participants in postsecondary education: October 1982, 1984
Participation in adult education
Box 42 Final report 1974
Box 42 Initial report 1971
Box 42 Participation in adult education, by Marie D. Wann and Marthine V. Woodward 1959
Box 42 Pennsylvania adult education project 1984
Box 42 Performance-based teacher education series, no. 1, 8, 10 1971-1973
Box 42 Personal statement about learning theory, by John Ohliger 1974
Box 42 Personality characteristics and learning style preferences of adult basic education students, by Anthony V. Manzo, Mary Lorton and Frank W.F. Condon 1975
Box 42 Perspectives in adult learning and development, v. 4, no. 1 1982-1983
Box 42 Phases of community action 1953
Box 42 Phi Delta Kappa proposal 1974
Box 42 Planned change in higher education 1971
Policy Research Incorporated
Box 42 Problem definition and solution strategies in dental practice 1980
Box 42 Poorer nations failing to cut education gap, by M.A. Farber 1972
Prairie View Mental Health Center
Box 42 Training grant application 1972
Prasar
Box 42 v. 2 nos. 1-4; v. 3 nos. 1, 4; v. 4 nos. 2-4 1974-1975, 1975-1976, 1976-1977 (2 folders)
Presbyterian School of Christian Education
Box 42 Strategic plan 1985
Box 42 Present status of the field (chapter 2), by Malcolm S. Knowles undated
Box 42 President Silber: making BU safe for the rich, by Jon Harris 1976
Box 42 Probabilistic functionalism: conception of research method, by Lewis Petrinovich 1979
Box 42 Problem-solving model in continuing education for dental practitioners, by Laurette F. Lipson, M.N.Ed., Kenneth D. Keith, Ph.D. and Gary L. Jones, M.S., D.D.S. undated
Box 43 Proposal to establish a department of community college and continuing education in the Boston University School of Education 1973
Box 43 Proposal to establish the State University of Nebraska 1971
Box 43 Proposal to the W.K. Kellogg Foundation organizing a national campaign to strengthen adult learning 1983
Box 43 Psychological test specialists information and order forms undated
Box 43 Pulse, v. 7, no. 1 1966
Professional Exchange Program
Box 43 Data 1969
Box 43 Survey results 1970
Box 43 Programs and registrations 1974-1975 joint report by Association of Continuing Higher Education and National University Extension Association 1974
Projections of educational statistics to...
Box 43 1982-1983
Box 43 1984-1985
Box 43 Questionnaire about adult education participant attitudes undated
Reaching adults for lifelong learning
Box 43 Part 1 1972
Box 43 Part 2 1972
Box 43 Part 3 1972
Box 43 Recent federal laws related to adult education undated
Box 43 Recurrent education: strategy for lifelong learning, chapter 1 1973
Box 43 Relationship between college grades and adult achievement, by Donald P. Hoyt 1965
Box 43 Relationship between the elementary age child's self-concept and his academic and social functioning, by Robert Morgan undated
Box 43 Report on education research, v. 5, no. 3 1973
Box 43 Report to the Adult Education Association, by Edmund des Brunner 1959
Research and investigations in adult education
Box 43 1968 annual register
Box 43 1971 annual register
Box 44 1972 annual register
Box 44 Research and training opportunities abroad: 1972-1973 higher education programs in foreign language and area studies 1971
Box 44 Research currents 1973
Box 44 Research highlights in aging 1961
Box 44 Research in instructional television and film, by J. Christopher Reid and Donald W. MacLennan 1967
Box 44 Research needs in adult education, by Henry G. Brady, Ph.D. 1982
Box 44 Research projects of adult education professors undated
Box 44 Research related to adult education conducted at the University of British Columbia, by Gary Dickinson 1968
Box 44 Residential colleges: some new developments in British adult education, by Guy Hunter undated
Box 44 Resources for change: guide to projects 1975-1976, by Fund for Improvement of Post-Secondary Education 1976
Box 44 Resources for developing volunteer programs: annotated bibliography, by Betty H. Wiser 1971
Box 44 Resources for educators of adults 1978
ROCOM (Division of Hoffman-La Roche Inc.)-American College of Physicians
Box 44 Medical skills library 1973-1974
Box 44 Role and training of adult educators in Czechoslovakia, by Jindra Kulich 1967
Box 44 Safeguarding democracy through adult civic education, by J.W. Studebaker 1938
Box 44 Selected approaches to adult education, by Homer Kempfer and Grace S. Wright 1950
Box 44 Selected higher education publications 1974
Box 44 Self-evaluation model for non-degree special purpose schools for working adults, by Edmund N. Fulker 1968
Box 45 Serious case for silliness, by Marlowe O. Erickson 1984
Box 45 Skeleton strategy of the development of a system of polyvalent curricula for the entire educational system, by Gustav Thuro 1977
Small business management series nos. 7, 12 1953, 1955
Box 45 Social education in Japan 1967
Box 45 Social physics and the effects of others research proposal, by Eric S. Knowles 1977
Box 45 Some comments regarding research based on questionnaires and interviews, by Ralph M. Stodgill
Box 45 Some guidelines for the preparation of dissertation proposals, by Malcolm S. Knowles undated
Box 45 Some papers, research reports and experiments on andragogy: bibliography, by Malcolm S. Knowles 1979
Box 45 Some psychological dimensions of life long learning, by Howard McCluskey 1975-1976
Box 45 Sources of information on educational media, by John A. Molstad 1963
Southern Regional Education Board
Box 45 Physicians' digest for continuing psychiatric education programs, 1-16 1970-1973
Box 45 Policies in a state mental health agency 1974
Box 45 Staff development and continuing education programs for library personnel, by Barbara Conroy 1974
Box 45 Staff development and practice supervision, by Joanne I. Bell undated
Box 45 Staff development pamphlets and reports
Box 45 Staff development reports, papers and pamphlets 1974-1980
Box 45 Staff development: supervisor's job 1963
Box 45 Staff training reports
Box 45 State staff members for adult basic education programs directory 1965
State University of New York at Albany
Box 45 Component AE 01.000 undated
Box 46 Component AE 02.000 undated
Box 46 Component AE 04.000 undated
Box 46 Statistics of public school adult education 1958-1959, by Marthine V. Woodward 1961
Stouffer Hotels - Department of Organization Development
Box 46 LCI sales management training program 1978
Box 46 Strategies of research on learning in educational settings, by Philip H. DuBois and King M. Wientge 1964
Box 46 Studiecirkel ledaren, by Sven-Arne Stahre 1951
Box 46 Studies and training in continuing education: directory of residential continuing education centers in the United States and Canada 1963-1964
Box 46 Studies in adult education, v. 1, no. 2 1969
Box 46 Study of factors influencing the continuing education of law enforcement officers, by Jay L. Chronister, Bruce M. Gansneder, John C. LeDouk, and Edward J. Tully 1982
Box 46 Study of the persistence of adult students in the fundamental learning laboratories of the North Carolina community college system, by William David Killian 1969
Box 46 Successful industrial innovations, by Sumner Myers and Donald G. Marquis 1969
Box 46 Supplementary knowledge of results, by E. Maltzman, W.C. Holz and Jean Kunze 1965
Survey of graduate programs in adult education in the United States and Canada
Box 46 1968
Box 46 Addenda 1970
Box 46 Survey of the current situation in higher adult education in the United States, by Robert J. Pitchell undated
Sweden - Department of Educational Research
Box 46 Sos-vux project ca. 1970's
Synectics education systems
Box 47 Catalogs and journal articles
Box 47 Syracuse University - Final report on Ed.D. and Ph.D. in adult education, by New York State Education Department - Office of Doctoral Project - Rating Committee 1979
Box 47 Tale of three cities: Elsinore-Montreal-Tokyo, by James Robbins Kidd 1974
Box 47 Talent and tomorrow's teachers, by Lanora G. Lewis, J. Ned Bryan and Robert Poppendieck 1963
Box 47 Teacher influence, pupil attitudes and achievement, by Ned A. Flanders 1965
Box 47 Team building for matrix organizations, by Dr. Gordon L. Lippitt 1969
Box 47 Techniques and criteria for designing and selecting instruments for assessing teachers, by Paul S. Pottinger undated
Box 47 Testing and grading articles, booklets and papers 1973-1977
Box 47 Tourism as cultural learning, by Midori Matsuyama and Theodore Brameld 1976
Box 47 Toward a social-industrial complex, by Simon Ramo 1972
Box 47 Trainer competency questionnaire 1981
Box 47 Tribute to Lee Bradford undated
Triton Corporation
Box 47 Continuing education: state programs for the 70's 1969
Union Graduate School
Box 47 Newsletter, v. 5, no. 3 1975
United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
Education abstracts
Box 47 v. 11, no. 8; v. 12, nos. 4-6 1959, 1960
Box 47 Recommendation on the development of adult education 1976
United States
Civil Service Commission
Atlanta Regional Training Center
Box 47 Interagency training curricula undated
Box 47 Train, v. 1, no. 1 1978
Bureau of Training
Box 47 Employee training in the federal service 1972
Box 47 Training policies for various agencies 1962
Department of Agriculture - Extension Service
Box 47 Staff development reports and pamphlets 1975-1977
Department of Health, Education, and Welfare
National Institute of Education
Box 47 Entitlement papers 1977
Box 48 Request for proposals 1979
Office of Education - Division of Adult and Vocational Research
Box 48 Project summaries 1966
Box 48 Report of the secretary 1963
Executive Office of the President - Office of Consumer Affairs
Box 48 Consumer education for adults 1971-1972
House of Representatives - Committee on Post Office and Civil Service - Subcommittee on Manpower and Civil Service
Box 48 Report 1967
President's Committee on Education Beyond the High School
Box 48 1st interim report, 2nd interim report 1956, 1957
Box 48 University in lifelong education, by Joseph Rovan 1978
University Microfilms, Inc.
Box 48 Dissertations of the 60's catalog 1964
University of British Columbia - Faculty of Education
Box 48 Journal of education, no. 18 1971
University of Chicago
Box 48 Continuing education report, no. 2 1965
University of Connecticut - Center for Black Studies
Box 48 Competencies of adult educators 1961
University of Georgia - Center for Continuing Education
Box 48 Proposal 1975
University of Kentucky - College of Library Science - Office for Continuing Education
Box 48 Proposal 1975
University of North Carolina - School of Medicine
Box 48 Trends in medical education, no. 12 1976
University of Oklahoma - College of Liberal Studies
Box 48 Advisor's notebook 1978
University of Pittsburgh - School of Education
Box 48 Proposal 1979
University of South Carolina - College of Engineering
Box 48 Institute for advanced professional studies in engineering 1980
Box 48 University preparation for community college education, by Eugene E. DuBois
Box 49 Viewpoints, v. 49, no. 5 1973
Box 49 Volkshochschulen in the Federal Republic of Germany and West Berlin undated
Box 49 Volunteer administration, v. 10, no. 2 1977
Box 49 Volunteer papers
Box 49 Wakati Wa Furaha: evaluation of a radio study group campaign, by Budd L. Hall 1973
Wayne County (MI) Intermediate School District
Box 49 Adult education staff development plan 1978-1979
WGBH-TV - Boston University
Box 49 Dynamics of leadership 1961
Box 49 What does it take for faculty development to make a difference?, by Karen J. Connell, Jean M. Alberti and Zdzislaw H. Piotrowski 1976-1977
Box 49 What dulls my mind and saps my will steals life, by Grace M. Healy 1973
Box 49 Why teach the humanities to adult basic education students?, ed. by Donald W. Mocker and William C. Jones 1975
Box 49 Wilmington morning star 1976
Box 49 World Education proposal 1971
Yokefellow Institute, Inc.
Box 49 Grant proposal 1974
Young Men's Christian Association
National Council
Box 49 Bulletin, v. 36, no. 5 1962
Box 49 Design for training 1967
Organization Development Program
Box 49 Bulletins 1962-1965
Box 49 Training priorities 1960's
Box 49 Report on the evaluation of participants in the in-residence study phase of the 2nd unit of the experimental association program for professional development in YMCA secretaryship 1967
Box 49 YMCA at work in the inner city undated
YMCA of Canada - National Council
Box 49 Hi-Y tomorrow undated
Your New England Foundation for Continuing Dental Education
Box 49 Manual undated
Published material
Box 50 Adult basic education teacher competency inventory, by Donald W. Mocker, James D. Peebles, Lorraine M. Zinn, Gordon Ault, and Vera S. Maass 1974
Box 50 Adult education activities for public libraries, by Carl Thomsen, Edward Sydney and Miriam D. Tompkins 1950
Box 50 Adult education activities in public libraries, by Helen Lyman Smith 1954
Box 50 Adult education in Liberia, by Robert M. Smith 1965
Box 50 Adult education in Sweden, by Paul Bergevin 1961
Box 50 Adult learning, by Irving Lorger, Gale Jensen, Leland P. Bradford, and Max Birbaum 1965
Algonquin College of Applied Arts & Technology-Teachers of Adults Program
Box 50 Education development officer's manual 1977
Box 50 Handbook 1977
Box 50 Resource booklets, no. 5-8 1977
American Society for Training and Development
Box 50 Professional development manual 1974
Box 50 Approach to informal adult education, ed. by Alden Eberly 1961
Box 50 Automated training design: new dimension in adult education 1965
Box 51 Bibliographies of career-related materials 1975
Box 51 Citizen participation in federal programs, by Hans B.C. Spiegel 1971
Box 51 Communication and status: dynamics of a research center, by Alfred G. Smith 1966
Box 51 Continuing education as a national capital investment, by Herbert E. Striner 1971
Cooperative Assessment of Experiential Learning
Box 51 Assessing prior learning, by Joan Knapp 1977
Box 51 Compendium of assessment techniques, by Joan Knapp and Amiel Sharon 1975
Box 51 Learning and assessing interpersonal competence - CAEL student guide, by Paul Breen, Thomas F. Donlon and Urban Whitaker 1977
Box 51 Principles of good practice in assessing experiential learning, by Warren W. Willingham 1977
Box 51 Teaching and assessing interpersonal competence - CAEL handbook, by Paul Breen, Thomas F. Donlon and Urban Whitaker 1977
Box 51 Coping with problems in meeting training needs for cross-cultural international training, by Milton J. Feldman 1977
Council for the Advancement of Experiential Learning
Box 51 Self-directed educator - CAEL syllabus, by Mark Cheren 1979
Box 51 Critical requirements for training directors, by Donald W. Devine 1962
Box 51 Decision-making in the planning and implementation of instruction in adult basic education, by Robert E. Snyder 1971
Box 51, 52 Dynamic management education, by Allen A. Zoll 1966 (3 folders)
Box 52 Dynamics of participative groups, by J.R. Gobb, Grace N. Platts and Lorraine F. Miller 1951
Box 52 Education in industry, by Seymour Lusterman 1977
Box 52 Educational experience, by Robert Redfield 1955
Box 52 Effective use of training aids 1948
Box 52 Expand your life, by Allen Tough 1980
Box 52 Group dynamics and social action, by Kenneth D. Benne, Leland P. Bradford and Ronald Lippitt 1950
Box 52 Guidance function and counseling roles in an adult education program, by Violet M. Malone, Ph.D. and Mary Ann Diller, Ph.D. 1978
Box 52 Guide to local politics, by David A. Booth 1961
General Electric - Career Development Program
Box 52 Career planning journal 1972
Box 52 Manager's manual 1972
Box 52 Handbook for data processing educators, by Roger Sullivan 1979
Box 52 How adults can learn more faster 1961
Box 52 How to make and interpret functional organization charts, by John J. Furia, Ph.D. 1943
Box 52 How to select, train and use volunteers in the school, by Rosa Alexander Harris 1985
Box 52 In-service education in adult basic education, by Alan B. Knox 1971
International University Consortium
Box 52 Adult years: continuity and change 1984-1985
Box 52 Exploring language: thinking, writing, communicating, 2nd ed., by Marilyn Majeska 1985
Box 52 Issues in nontraditional study, v.1, ed. by John R. Valley and I. Bruce Hamilton 1976
Box 52 Jesness inventory, by Carl F. Jesness, Ph.D. 1962
Box 52 Keys to creative work with volunteers, by Chama A. Lewis, CAVS and Leo F. Johnson, Ed.D. 1977
Box 53 Leadership in the 80's: essays on higher education, by Chris Argyris and Richard M. Cyert 1980
Box 53 Leadership influence matrix (LIM): conceptual approach, by Capt. L.I. Moore 1975
Box 53 Leisure counseling techniques, by Patsy B. Edwards 1975
Box 53 Library staff development profile pages, by Barbara Conroy 1979
Box 53 Life transitions reader, by Vivian Rogers McCoy, Colleen Ryan, Robin Suton, and Nancy Winn 1980
Box 53 Making the transition to training, by Leah R. Humlie and Patricia A. Denman, M.A. 1984
McBer and Company
Box 53 Learning style inventory, by David A. Kolb 1976
Box 53 Personal learning guide 1979
Metropolitan State University
Box 53 Individualized educational planning 1982
National University Consortium - Systems Organization
Box 53 Faculty and administrative materials 1982
Box 53 Student course guide 1983
Box 53 Opinions of school superintendents on adult education, by National Education Association-Research Division 1964
Box 53 Personality style and sociometric choice, by Jeanne Watson Eisenstadt 1969
Box 53 Physiological factors in adult learning and instruction, by Coolie Verner and Catherine V. Davison 1971
Box 53 Presenter's guide to conferences, by Chip Bell and Frederic Margolis 1980
Box 53 Psychology as a profession, by Robert I. Watson 1954
Box 53 Recommendations on credentializing educational accomplishment, by Task Force on Educational Credit and Credentials 1978
Retirement Planning Associates, Inc.
Box 53 Retirement planning manual, by Katherine A. Grant and Betty H. Wiser 1981
Box 53 Sales psychology, by J.T. Hart 1984
Box 54 Social groups, roles and leadership: introduction to the concepts, by Donald W. Olmsted 1961
Standard Oil Company
Box 54 Summary report of the early identification of management potential research project in Standard Oil Company (New Jersey) and affiliated companies 1961
Box 54 Supervisory inventories and temporary manual, by Donald L. Kirkpatrick, Ph.D. 1965
Box 54 Survey of continuing education activities for engineers and scientists, by John P. Klus and Judy A. Jones 1978
Box 54 Synthesis of selected manuscripts about the education of adults in the United States, by James R. Broschart 1976
Box 54 Taking your meetings out of the doldrums, by Eva Schindler-Rainman, Ronald Lippitt and Jack Cole 1975
Box 54 Training and development handbook, 2nd ed., ed. by Robert L. Craig 1979
Box 54 Treasury of techniques for teaching adults 1964, 1973
Box 54 University adult education in the later 20th century 1970
Box 54 Voluntary action and social problems, compiled and ed. by David Horton Smith and Richard D. Reddy 1971
Box 54 Write your own job description, by Michael Frayling 1974
Scrapbooks
Box 54 Boston YMCA years 1940-1943
Chicago YMCA years
Box 54 1946-1947
Box 55 1948-1949
Box 55 College years 1930-1935
Box 55 Detroit YMCA years 1943-1944
Box 56 National Youth Administration years 1935-1940
Box 56 Navy years 1944-1946
Speeches
Box 56 Conference on extension activities, address excerpts by Paul A. Miller, Asst. Sec. for Ed. in Dept. of Health, Education, and Welfare 1966
Box 56 Founder's Day address at Boston University 1957
Box 56 Fund for Adult Education speech on liberal adult education 1956
Box 56 "Group process in adult education," by Malcolm S. Knowles 1952
Box 56 "Innovations in education and training of health manpower," by Daniel S. Schechter 1966
Box 56 "Is lifelong adult education a guarantee of permanent inadequacy?" by John Ohliger 1974
Box 56 "Man's confidence in himself," by Malcolm S. Knowles 1955
Box 56 National Defense University address to faculty, students and staff, by General Pustay 1981
Box 56 "Planning for lifelong learning," by Malcolm S. Knowles 1961
Box 56 "Relentless verity: education for being-becoming-belonging," by James Robbins Kidd 1973
Box 56 Syracuse University conference on instruction learning, theory speeches 1956
Box 56 "What is education, really? And what is the Church's role in it?" by Malcolm S. Knowles 1960
Box 56 "Why adults participate in education," by Gordon G. Darkenwald 1977
Workshop files
Adult Learning Programs of Alaska
Box 56 Alaskan workshops 1981
Box 56 Changing Alaska 1980
Aid Association for Lutherans
Box 56 Volunteer trainer network training event 1981
Box 56 Algonquin College of Applied Arts & Technology 1973-1974
American Association of University Women
Box 56 Community leadership training program 1968- 1969
American Public Power Association
Box 56 Management education program 1967
American Society for Training and Development
Box 56 Institute for the training professional 1969
Box 56 Southern Minnesota chapter – Andragogical approach to training 1974
Antioch College
Box 57 Human resources 1975
Archdiocese of Chicago - Center for Adult Learning
Box 57 Assumptions and tactics of adult education 1972
Box 57 Programming and evaluation in adult education 1972
Archdiocese of Detroit - Institute for Continuing Education
Box 57 Expansion workshops 1977
Archdiocese of St. Paul and Minneapolis, MN
Box 57 Motivating adults to learn 1977
Association of Nurses of the Province of Quebec
Box 57 Workshop on in-service education 1970
Board of Education, Toronto, Canada
Box 57 Helping adults learn 1970
Boston University - School of Nursing
Box 57 Workshop on institutional change 1974
Brazil - State Universities
Box 57 Faculty development 1977
Burlington Industries Inc.
Box 57 Training managers meeting 1977
Burlington (VT) Public Schools
Box 57 Teamwork in educational leadership 1967
Cambridge House - Center for Human Potential
Box 57 Planning for change 1970
Canada - Public Service Commission - Bureau of Staff Development and Training
Box 57 Development and training workshops 1974-1975
College of DuPage - Extension College
Box 57 In-service program 1974
Columbia University - School of Public Health and Administrative Medicine
Box 57 Management development workshops 1965-1967
Box 57 Seminars for executive directors of state hospital associations 1969
Box 58 Connecticut Hospital Association 1970-1972
Connecticut Nurses' Association
Box 58 Professional development seminar 1968
Cornell University - New York State School of Industrial and Labor Relations
Box 58 Consultation 1966
Council for the Advancement of Experiential Learning
Box 58 Professional development workshops 1979-1980
Curry College
Box 58 Faculty workshop 1974
Cutler-Hammer
Box 58 Marketing management seminar 1971
Development Dimensions, Inc.
Box 58 Advanced workshop for interaction management administration 1977
Diocese of Springfield, MA - Office of Religious Education
Box 58 Day of enrichment 1974
Emmanuel College - Training Center in Religious Education
Box 58 Theory and practice of andragogy 1974
Florida State University College of Education - Division of Educational Management Systems
Box 58 Adult education seminars 1977
Box 58 National institute on resource utilization and development in adult basic education 1970
Box 58 Ford Motor Company workshop 1974
General Electric Company
Box 58 Manager development course 1969
Box 58 Management development institute
Box 58 Career development planning 1971
Box 58 Manpower evaluation development 1970
General Motors Corporation - Chevrolet Motor Division
Box 58 Communication workshops 1963
George Washington University - Center for Professional Development
Box 58 Professional development and training programs 1980-1981
Georgia State University - Institute for Chief State School Officers
Box 58 Peak use of peak years 1975
Goddard College
Box 59 Helping adults learn workshop 1970
H.P. Hood and Sons
Box 59 Training workshops 1969-1970
International Business Machines
Box 59 Education staff training program 1968-1969
Box 59 Management development instructor techniques school 1971-1974, 1977
Box 59 Manager development workshops 1969-1970
Box 59 Presentations on management and adult learning, and creativity 1968
Box 59 Inter-university forum for educators in community psychiatry 1967-1970
Kansas State University - Adult Education Center
Box 59 Self-directed learning institute 1975
Loyola College - Evening Division
Box 59 Andragogy workshops 1973-1974
Maine
Department of Health and Welfare - Division of Child Welfare
Box 59 Staff development 1969
Box 59 York County Council on Aging, Inc. workshops 1969
Management Manpower Developers
Box 59 Adult learning and human resources development 1982
Marymount College of Kansas
Box 59 Continuing education for health professionals 1973
Massachusetts Nurses Association
Box 59 Designing better in-service education programs 1969
McMaster University - School of Nursing
Box 59 Self-directed and contract learning workshops 1976-1977
Mercyhurst College
Box 59 Faculty workshops 1975
Montana State University
College of Education
Box 59 Organization and administration of adult education 1970
Box 59 Workshop on Chinese area studies for high school teachers in Montana State undated
Box 59 National Academy of Health Inservice Education workshop 1971
National Association of Social Workers
Box 59 Workshop on community development in the United States 1962
Box 59 Workshop on continuing education 1968
Box 59 National Catholic Educational Association workshop 1972
National Drug Abuse Training Center
Box 60 Staff development 1973
National Education Association
National Training Laboratories
Box 60 3rd annual national training laboratories for educators 1961
Research Center for Group Dynamics, M.I.T.
Box 60 1st national training laboratory on group development 1947
National Institute of Mental Health - Continuing Education Branch
Box 60 Interdisciplinary workshop 1971
Box 60 National workshop on individualized education 1977
Needham (MA) Public Schools
Box 60 Professional self-improvement workshop 1970
New Hampshire State Department of Education
Box 60 Staff development 1972
New Jersey Adult Education Association
Box 60 Professional development program for continuing education leaders 1968
Newton (MA) Public Schools - Bigelow Junior High School
Box 60 Faculty seminar in group and interpersonal relations 1967
Newton (MA) Unified School District No. 373
Box 60 9th Annual summer workshop 1972
North Carolina State University - Department of Adult and Community College Education
Box 60 Community college business management institute 1974
Northeastern University - Center for Continuing Education
Box 60 Professional management of volunteer programs 1973
Northland Open University - Canadian School of Management
Box 60 Self-directed learning 1982
NTL Institute for Applied Behavioral Sciences - American Society for Training and Development
Box 60 Professional development workshop on organizational sexism 1971
Ohio Nurses Association
Box 60 Adult learner workshop
Ontario Association for Continuing Education
Box 60 Post-secondary education workshop 1971
Box 61 Oregon State University - School of Education Directing adult learning 1971
Organizational Renewal, Inc.
Box 61 Implementing the organization renewal process 1970
Pan American World Airways
Box 61 Staff training workshop 1971
Polaroid Corporation
Box 61 Adult learning and skills development 1969
Prairie View Mental Health Center
Box 61 Humanizing education 1971
Box 61 In search of values 1971
Project Associates, Inc.
Box 61 Staff specialist as an internal consultant program 1972
Providence (RI) Public Schools - Adult Education Department
Box 61 Invitational workshop in adult education 1968
Quebec Camping Association
Box 61 Camp team seminar 1974
Quinsigamond Community College
Box 61 Faculty development 1970-1971
Box 61 2nd annual all-Worcester County gerontological institute 1974
Regional Adult Education Center
Box 61 Rural education workshop 1979
Box 61 Research training institute 1967
Box 61 Reservation agents' workshop 1970
Roche Laboratory
Box 61 Anxiety colloquium 1972
St. Andrews Presbyterian College
Box 61 Consultation on multi-generational education 1974
St. Anselm's College - Department of Nursing Education
Box 61 Faculty development workshops 1966-1970
Saint Dunstan's Episcopal Church
Box 61 New perspectives on adult education in the church 1974
St. Eulalia Rectory
Box 61 5th anniversary parish workshop 1971
Scarritt College - Center of Continuing Education
Box 61 Self-directed learning workshop 1976
Sherbrooke University - Medical School
Box 61 Andragogy self-directed and contract learning 1977-1978
Simon Rodriquez University
Box 61 Andragogy workshop 1977
South Florida Inservice Educators
Box 62 Techniques of adult education 1971
Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary
Box 62 Self-directed learning 1977
Southern Regional Education Board
Box 62 Planning of in-service workshops 1971
State University of New York at Stony Brook-Health Sciences Center - School of Allied Health Professions
Box 62 Inservice program, techniques and resources for teaching health occupations education 1974
Stouffer Corporation
Box 62 Hotel management candidate program 1981
Box 62 Staff development and training 1980-1981
Temple University Hospital
Box 62 Nursing staff development program 1967
Tennessee State University
Box 62 1st adult basic education workshop 1970
Toronto, Canada - Board of Education
Box 62 Inservice education workshop 1970
Box 62 Leadership development program 1971-1973
United States
Department of Agriculture - Federal Extension Service
Box 62 National home management workshop 1960
Box 62 Workshop on creative procedures and processes in staff development to do 4-H work 1974
Department of Health, Education, and Welfare
National Institute of Mental Health
Box 62 Continuing education program development 1971
Box 62 Regional staff development workshops 1967-1968
Social and Rehabilitation Service
Box 62 Manpower development and training specialists 1971
Department of Housing and Urban Development
Box 62 Training of trainers 1968
Postal Service
Box 62 Management intern sensitivity training program 1968
University of Chicago - Department of Education
Box 62 10th annual summer workshop on family planning 1972
University of Connecticut - School of Social Work
Box 62 Continuing education services training sessions 1970-1971
University of Denver - Law Center
Box 63 Institute for court management 1971
University of Georgia - School of Social Work
Box 63 Faculty retreat 1974
University of Iowa - College of Dentistry
Box 63 Faculty retreat 1977
University of Kentucky - Kentucky Association of Continuing Education - Southeastern Library Association
Box 63 Workshops 1975
University of Manitoba
Box 63 Master of continuing education program 1972
University of Maryland - School of Social Work and Community Planning
Box 63 Learning/teaching contracts workshop 1975
Box 63 Teaching and learning in the university 1974
University of Michigan - School of Dentistry
Box 63 Faculty retreat 1977
University of Missouri - Cooperative Extension Service
Box 63 Evaluating your professionalism as an adult educator 1973
Box 63 Workshop 1973
University of Missouri Extension Association
Box 63 Professional improvement workshop undated
University of Nevada - National College of the State Judiciary
Box 63 Training workshop for judge faculty 1977
Box 63 Training workshops 1975-1976
University of North Carolina - Education Department
Box 63 ED 510 1979
University of Southern California - School of Public Administration - Center for Training and Development
Box 63 Public administration courses 1980
Box 64 Public administration problems 501 1977
University of West Indies - Department of Extra-Mural Studies
Box 64 Leadership training 1967
Box 64 Principles of working with groups 1967
University of Toronto - School of Continuing Studies
Box 64 Andragogy workshops 1976 (2 folders)
Box 64 Self-directed learning 1977-1980 (4 folders)
Box 64 Wascana Institute of Applied Arts and Sciences - Department of Continuing Education workshop 1976
Wayne State University - School of Social Work
Box 64 Field instructors' workshop 1976
West Virginia University - School of Nursing
Box 64 Understanding the adult learner 1973
Western Electric Company, Incorporated
Management training program
Box 64 23rd group 1963
Box 64 47th group 1980
Box 64 Management sensitivity training 1969
Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education
Box 64 11th annual training institute for psychiatrists-teachers of practicing physicians 1971
Westinghouse Electric Corporation
Box 64, 65 Executive course 1975-1976 (2 folders)
Box 65 Executive forum 1977
Willamette University - Oregon Judicial College
Box 65 Continuing education of trial judges workshop 1977
York University - Centre for Continuing Education
Box 65 Group process and organizational skills institute 1969
Young Men's Christian Association
Box 65 Association program for professional development 1968
Box 65 Eastern association program for professional development 1962-1968
Box 65 Eastern region adult program 1982
Box 65 Eastern unit organization development project 1965
Box 65 Midwest association program for professional development 1966-1968
Box 65 New England area council interracial practices workshop 1967
Canada
Box 65 Association program for professional development 1967-1969
National Council
Box 65 Leadership development lab for program secretaries 1964
Box 65 Leadership development program for secretaries 1963
Box 65 Staff workshop 1960
Organization Development Project
Box 65 1960-1961
Box 66 1962
Southwest and West Central Area Councils
Box 66 Trainers' lab 1969
Southwest Area Council
Box 66 Association program for professional development 1966-1968 (3 folders)
Box 66 Manpower development project 1974
Audio-visual
Graphics
Box 69 Straight talk, developed by Larry Nolan Davis
Films
Box 69 Dynamics of leadership (8 reels)
Tapes
Video (beta format)
Box 69 International Federation of Training and Development Organizations World Congress 1982
Cassettes
Box 69 Administrator as self-directed learner, by Malcolm S. Knowles
American Society for Training and Development
Box 69 Competency based education
Box 69 37th annual conference 1981
National conference
Box 69 1984
Box 69 1986
North Carolina State University - Spring Seminar Series
Box 69 Non-traditional study, by Cyril O. Houle (2 tapes)
Southern Extension Conference
Box 69 Problem clinic on adult learning, by Malcolm Knowles
Box 69 Sub-master A-1 and A-2 (2 tapes)
Reel-to-reel
Box 69 Council on Social Work Education 1971
Box 69 Hard look at adult christian education, by John Fry, and Another hard look at adult christian education, by Malcolm Knowles 1963
Box 69 Clarification on issues: hard look-revisited, by John Fry and Malcolm Knowles, with dialogue 1963