Collection inventory


Finding Aids

George Kloek Scrapbook on Jimmy Hatlo

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 16 Feb 2011

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Kloek, George.
Title: George Kloek Scrapbook on Jimmy Hatlo
Dates: 1946-1963
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Scrapbook containing clippings of "They'll Do It Ever Time" with "tip of the hat" to Kloek for his ideas, correspondence with Hatlo, and correspondence with a few others
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

James Cecil "Jimmy" Hatlo (1898-1963) was an American sports and editorial cartoonist known for his long-running strip They'll Do It Every Time. The strip regularly featured gag cartoons based on ideas sent in by readers. George Kloek of New York City was a frequent contributor and many of his ideas were used by Hatlo.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George Kloek Scrapbook on Jimmy Hatlo contains clippings of Hatlo's panel cartoon "They'll Do It Ever Time" that have a "tip of the hat" (acknowledgement) to Kloek for his ideas. There are also numerous incoming letters from Hatlo and one or two pieces of correspondence from others. The items have been removed from the scrapbook and foldered.


Arrangement of the Collection

In the original scrapbook the items -- particularly the correspondence -- were layered on top of one another or folded and could not be seen in their entirety, so the items have been removed from the scrapbook and placed in a folder. Items remain in the order they were in the scrapbook, so there are one or two pieces of correspondence mixed in with the clippings.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Jimmy Hatlo Papers.


Subject Headings

Persons

Hatlo, Jimmy, 1898-1963.
Kloek, George.

Associated Titles

They'll do it every time.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- California.
Cartoonists -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Proof sheets.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George Kloek Scrapbook on Jimmy Hatlo,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Jeffrey Kloek, grandson, 2011.


Table of Contents

Memorabilia


Inventory

Memorabilia
SC 656 Scrapbook 1946-1963 - clippings, correspondence, one proof sheet