Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

Thelma Burnett Curley Kleinhans Collection Relating to Franklin D. Roosevelt

An inventory of her collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Nov 1996



Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1926 to 1962, the Thelma Burnett Curley Kleinhans Collection Relating to Franklin D. Roosevelt contains 16 items, including nine letters of the then trustee of the Georgia Warm Springs Foundation and future President of the United States. A memorandum written by former Surgeon-in-Chief LeRoy W. Hubbard certifies that in 1926 and 1927 Thelma Burnett was a member of the physiotherapy staff of the "center for the study and after-treatment of poliomyelitis (infantile paralysis)." The early Roosevelt letters thank Miss Burnett for her service at the center and indicate pleasure in securing her for subsequent periods after she had married and re-located to Syracuse, N.Y.

The letters after 1927 refer to Roosevelt's political campaigns, and a single letter (18 Oct. 1928) from Eleanor Roosevelt on behalf of the Democratic National Committee suggests:

"Perhaps you will go to hear my husband when he speaks in Syracuse, and you may find yourself more interested in Smith than you now are in Hoover. "

Letters which originated from the White House during the 1940s are signed by Private Secretary Grace G. Tully.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Roosevelt, Eleanor, 1884-1962.
Roosevelt, Franklin D. (Franklin Delano), 1882-1945.

Corporate Bodies

Georgia Warm Springs Foundation.

Subjects

Physical therapy.
Poliomyelitis.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Memoranda.

Occupations

Physical therapists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Thelma Burnett Curley Kleinhans Collection Relating to Franklin D. Roosevelt,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mr. & Mrs. Joseph Spector and William Pearson Tolley


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory