Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Jay Kay Klein Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 6 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Klein, Jay Kay.
Title: Jay Kay Klein Papers
Dates: 1968
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: American science fiction photographer and critic. Collection contains Convention Annual #4 with 90 pages of photographs from the 24th World Science Fiction convention in 1966, taken by Jay Kay Klein. Also one proof sheet of photographs, signed by Klein. Photographs include many notable science fiction authors, critics, illustrators, publishers and others in the field.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Jay Kay Klein is an American science fiction photographer and critic from Syracuse, New York.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jay Kay Klein Photographs consists of Convention Annual #4 with 90 pages of captioned photographs from the 24th World Science Fiction Convention in 1966. The photographs were taken, and the Annual assembled and edited, by Klein. Also included is one proof sheet of photographs, signed by Klein.

Notable individuals appearing in the Annual include Gene Roddenberry, Hal Clement, Harry Stubbs, Forrest Ackerman, Leigh Brackett, David Kyle, John Campbell, James Blish, John Brunner, Fred Saberhagen, Sam Moskowitz, Bjo Trimble, Fred Pohl, Isaac Asimov, Harlan Ellison, and many many more.


Arrangement of the Collection

No particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Klein, Jay Kay.

Corporate Bodies

World Science Fiction Convention (1966: Cleveland)
World Science Fiction Convention.

Subjects

Science fiction, American.

Genres and Forms

Photographs.

Occupations

Photographers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jay Kay Klein Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Jay Kay Klein, 1974.


Table of Contents

Memorabilia


Inventory

Memorabilia
SC 426 Convention Annual #4, TriCon Edition 1968