Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Kitemaug Press Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 10 Oct 2011

Biographical History

The Kitemaug Press is a small private press located in Spartanburg, South Carolina and specializing in fine letterpress printing, particularly of miniature books. The owner, proprietor, and primary printer is Frank J. Anderson, bibliophile, printer, and librarian at Wofford College.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Kitemaug Press Collection consists of miniature books and other items printed by the press, along with a small amount of publicity, both for individual titles and for the press as a whole. The collection also includes some pieces of correspondence from, and an essay by, owner and printer Frank J. Anderson as well as some Anderson / Wofford College material.

Arrangement of the Collection

Items are arranged alphabetically by type and within that (where possible) chronologically.


Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a wide range of material relating to small presses, private presses and fine printing in both our manuscript collections and our Rare Books holdings. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index to locate other manuscript material and to the Classic Catalog to locate published and cataloged items.

Subject Headings


Anderson, Frank J.

Corporate Bodies

Kitemaug Press.


Fine books.
Letterpress printing -- South Carolina.
Miniature books -- Specimens.
Printers -- South Carolina.
Private press books.
Private presses -- South Carolina.
Small presses -- South Carolina.


Spartanburg (S.C.) -- Imprints.

Genres and Forms

Broadsides (notices)
Fliers (printed matter)
Woodcuts (prints)



Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Kitemaug Press Collection, Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Rare Books, 2008. Originally gift of Frank J. Anderson.

Table of Contents

Printed material