Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Reuben Kirk Correspondence

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: EFB
Date: Apr 1971

Revision history:
25 Apr 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Kirk, Reuben.
Title: Reuben Kirk Correspondence
Dates: 1863-1865
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Union soldier from Vermont. Collection contains correspondence with his wife, Mary, concerning camp life, life on campaign, battles, and the election of 1864.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Reuben Kirk (fl. 1865) was a native of Springfield, Vermont and a soldier in the Union Army. He volunteered in 1863 and served as a private at the battle of Chancellorsville that same year; in General Philip Sheridan's campaign in the Shenandoah Valley in 1864; and in General Grant's campaign against Richmond and Petersburg, 1864-1865.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Reuben Kirk Correspondence consists of letters written by Kirk to his wife Mary. With two exceptions, dated July 12 and 13, 1864, all the letters are written from locations in Virginia.

The letters contain descriptions of life in the Union Army camps and on campaigns, descriptions of battles, and comments on such things as the religious life of the army and the presidential election of 1864. Campaigns mentioned include the Battle of Chancellorsville, General Philip Sheridan's campaign in the Shenandoah Valley in 1864, and General Grant's campaign against Richmond and Petersburg, 1864-1865.

The letters indicate that Private Kirk was deeply religious, and his beliefs find expression in almost every letter. His attachment to his wife and daughter is also evident.


Arrangement of the Collection

Letters are arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections of Civil War soldiers and officers. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Kirk, Mary C., fl. 1864.
Kirk, Reuben.
Sheridan, Philip Henry, 1831-1888.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Army -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources.

Subjects

Cedar Creek, Battle of, Va., 1864.
Chancellorsville, Battle of, Chancellorsville, Va., 1863.
Shenandoah Valley Campaign, 1864 (August-November)
Shenandoah Valley Campaign, 1864 (May-August)
Soldiers -- United States.
Spotsylvania Court House, Battle of, Va., 1864.
Wilderness, Battle of the, Va., 1864.
Winchester, 3rd Battle of, Winchester, Va., 1864.

Places

Petersburg (Va.) -- History -- Siege, 1864-1865.
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Campaigns -- Sources.
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives.
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Religious aspects.
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Sources.
United States -- History, Military -- To 1900 -- Sources.
Vermont -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865.
Virginia -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Soldiers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Reuben Kirk Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Letters 1863-1865, undated (4 folders)
Box 1 Envelopes