Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Marion Kingsley Letters

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 27 May 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Kingsley, Marion.
Title: Marion Kingsley Letters
Dates: 1955-1990
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letters from Marion Kingsley describing her work at the Methodist Mission in Kangneung (Kangnŭng-si) in South Korea.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Little is known of Marion Kingsley beyond the information given in the letters. She was evidently unmarried ("Miss Kingsley") and went to Korea in 1954 to work at the Methodist Mission in Kangneung (Kangnŭng-si) in South Korea. Her work included setting up schools, hospitals and clinics. She was likely a nurse, as she mentions teaching nursing courses locally and at Yonsei University and Seoul National University.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Marion Kingsley Letters consists of about a dozen letters from Marion Kingsley to "Dear Friends," concerning her work at the Methodist Mission in Kangneung (Kangnŭng-si), South Korea. She descibes setting up clinics and schools, her experiences teaching nursing, and church activities, as well as the family life, customs, education, and other characteristics of the Koreans with whom she was working.


Arrangement of the Collection

Letters are arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Kingsley, Marion.

Corporate Bodies

United Methodist Church (U.S.). -- Board of Global Ministries.
United Methodist Church (U.S.). -- Board of Missions.

Subjects

Methodist Church -- Missions -- Korea (South)
Missions, American -- Korea (South) -- History.
Women missionaries -- Korea (South).

Places

Kangnŭng-si (Korea) -- Social life and customs.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Missionaries.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Marion Kingsley Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Marion Kingsley, 1969, 1971, 1984, 1990.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 502 Korea letters 1955-1966, 1984, 1990