Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Dong Kingman Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 6 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Kingman, Dong, 1911-
Title: Dong Kingman Papers
Dates: before 1965
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: American painter. Photographs and negatives of his work.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Dong Kingman (1911-2000) was an American painter of Chinese heritage, known for his watercolors. Along with many other artists of his era he was a participating artist in the Works Progress Administration (WPA) created by the federal government to help support the arts. He received numerous awards and accolades, among them two Guggenheim Fellowships, and taught at Columbia University and Hunter College for many years. He was also interested in the movies, and created the main title backgrounds for several Hollywood productions including Flower Drum Song and 55 Days in Peking.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Dong Kingman Papers consists of photographs and negatives of the artist's work.


Arrangement of the Collection

No particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Kingman, Dong, 1911-

Subjects

Painters -- United States.
Watercolorists -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Negatives (photographs)
Photographs.

Occupations

Artists.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Dong Kingman Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Dong Kingman, 1965, 1966.


Table of Contents

Photographs


Inventory

Photographs
Box 1 Photographs and negatives of Kingman's work