Collection inventory


Finding Aids

John F. Kennedy Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 26 May 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: John F. Kennedy Collection
Dates: 1963
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Collection contains one typed letter from Kennedy, signed, to Professor Amzi Barber of Stratford College, and one photograph of Kennedy, undated.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John F. Kennedy (1917-1963) was the 35th President of the United States, serving from 1961 until his assassination in 1963. Prior to his presidency he served as both a representative and a senator from Massachusetts. Notable events during his administration include the Bay of Pigs (1961), the Cuban Missile Crisis (1962), and the creation of the Peace Corps.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John F. Kennedy Collection consists of two items. One is a typed letter from Kennedy, signed, to Professor Amzi G. Barber of Stratford College in Danville, Virginia; the letter is a standard "thank you for your support" form. The other item is a signed and inscribed photograph of Kennedy, undated; the inscription reads "With best wishes" followed by an illegible name.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Kennedy, John F. (John Fitzgerald), 1917-1963.

Subjects

Presidents -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Photographs.

Occupations

Presidents.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John F. Kennedy Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969, 1971.


Table of Contents

Miscellaneous


Inventory

Miscellaneous
SC 500 Letter, photograph 28 May 1963, undated