Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Kemp Manure Spreader Patent Infringement Decision

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: circa 1970

Revision history:
27 May 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Kemp, Joseph Sargent.
Title: Kemp Manure Spreader Patent Infringement Decision
Dates: 1889
Quantity: 1 volume.
Abstract: Single volume containing a report involving patent infringement of the Kemp Manure Spreader. Included is a typescript of the decision along with several pages of illustrative documents.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Joseph Sargent Kemp (1841-1922) was born in Stanstead, Quebec in Canada. He later moved with his family to New York, and in 1881 in Syracuse he formed Kemp & Burpee Manufacturing to build and market his manure spreader. The company merged with John Deere in 1911.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Kemp Manure Spreader Patent Infringement Decision consists of a single volume of a report relating to Joseph Kemp's request for a decision regarding the patent legality of some improvements made to his manure spreader. The volume includes the typescript report prepared by Edward Wilhelm of Wilhelm and Bonner, patent attorneys from Buffalo, New York, and several pages of illustrations. The illustrations are the patent diagrams for various manure spreaders, with accompanying descriptions. The decision cleared the Kemp machine of most, but not all, claims of infringement.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Kemp, Joseph Sargent.

Corporate Bodies

Kemp & Burpee Manufacturing Co.

Subjects

Agricultural machinery -- Patents.
Patent infringement -- United States -- Cases.

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

Decisions.

Occupations

Inventors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Kemp Manure Spreader Patent Infringement Decision,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transferred from Steam Locomotive Research Collection, 1969.


Table of Contents

Legal documents


Inventory

Legal documents
Volume MV 25 Kemp Manure Spreader Patent Infringement Decision 1889