Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Emil Kemeny Collection Relating to the Lindbergh Kidnapping

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KS
Date: Jun 1971

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Kemeny, Emil M.
Title: Emil Kemeny Collection Relating to the Lindbergh Kidnapping
Dates: 1932, 1956
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Letters to the Essex County Courthouse, regarding the Lindbergh kidnapping case; also clippings and photographs.
Language: Items in English, French, German, Hungarian, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Spanish
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Emil Kemeny was an Essex County courthouse interpreter who assisted in processing the voluminous correspondence generated by the kidnapping of the infant son of noted aviator Charles Lindbergh in March, 1932, and the discovery of the baby's body two months later. A Hungarian who became a naturalized U.S. citizen, Kemeny also served as the interpreter for Bruno Hauptmann, who was convicted of the crime in 1934.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Emil Kemeny Collection Relating to the Lindbergh Kidnapping consits of letters, envelopes, personal records, and assorted memorabilia about the Lindbergh case.

Kemeny and his associates read thousands of incoming Letters from all over the world in the search for clues; with very few exceptions, the letters express sympathy and horror. Many of the German writers urged the Lindberghs to make their home in Germany, since (they said) no German would be inclined to commit such a crime. Others offered professional assistance or simply their prayers and best wishes. Associated Envelopes represent more than fourteen countries.

Miscellany consists of photographs and newspaper clippings related to the case.

A small collection of Personal records (letters) completes the collection.


Arrangement of the Collection

Letters are arranged alphabetically by country, as are Envelopes. Miscellany is alphabetical by type of material. Personal records are arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Kemeny, Emil.
Lindbergh, Charles A. (Charles Augustus), 1902-1974.

Subjects

Lindbergh, Charles Augustus, 1930-1932 -- Kidnapping, 1932.
Trials (Kidnapping) -- New Jersey.
Trials (Murder) -- New Jersey.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Envelopes.
Letters (correspondence)
Photographs.

Occupations

Interpreters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Emil Kemeny Collection Relating to the Lindbergh Kidnapping,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Milton M. Kemeny, 1970.


Table of Contents

Letters

Envelopes

Miscellany

Personal records


Inventory

Letters
Box 1 Argentina
Box 1 Austria
Box 1 Belgium
Box 1 Brazil
Box 1 Canada
Box 1 Cuba
Box 1 England
Box 1 France
Box 1 Germany
Box 2 Germany
Box 2 Holland
Box 2 Hungary
Box 2 Italy
Box 2 Japan
Box 2 Switzerland
Box 2 U.S.A.
Box 3 U.S.A.
Box 3 Venice
Envelopes
Box 3 Miscellaneous
Box 4 Miscellaneous
Box 5 Miscellaneous
Miscellany
Box 5 Newspaper clippings Sep 1932
Box 5 Photographs Apr 1932
Personal records
Box 5 Letters Jun 1956