Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Syracuse University Kellogg Project Records

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 14 Sep 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Syracuse University Kellogg Project.
Title: Syracuse University Kellogg Project Records
Dates: 1987-1994
Quantity: 5 linear ft.
Abstract: Project to document the history of adult education. Collection includes reports, registers of collection, audiocassettes and other material.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Syracuse University Kellogg Project was instituted in 1986 with the aim of increasing the visibility of and access to the University's extensive archival collections in the field of adult education. The project was sponsored by the W.K. Kellogg Foundation of Battle Creek, Michigan, and based in the Adult Education Graduate Program. The goals were to process, promote research on, and provide broad access to the collections using the then-cutting-edge technologies of laser discs and optical character recognition (OCR). The program predated the general use of the Internet and as such encountered numerous challenges in terms of technology, interoperability, and proprietary software/hardware. The Kellogg Project's final report is available online at www-distance.syr.edu/kelrpt1.html


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Syracuse University Kellogg Project Records contains files relating to the adult education project.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Hiemstra, Roger

Corporate Bodies

Syracuse University Kellogg Project

Subjects

Adult education -- History.
Adult education -- Study and teaching.

Genres and Forms

Reports.
Thesauri.

Occupations

Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Syracuse University Kellogg Project Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Bulk of material, gift of Roger Hiemstra, 1999.

Additions, gift of Alex Charters, 2005.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.