Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Nathaniel Kaz Interview

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 22 Jan 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Fortess, Karl E. (Karl Eugene), 1907-
Title: Nathaniel Kaz Interview
Dates: 1967
Quantity: 1 audiocassette (SC)
Abstract: Audiotaped interview of Kaz. Interviewer is painter and printmaker Karl Fortess.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nathaniel Kaz (1917- ) is an American sculptor and artist known for his bronze pieces and religious drawings; he studied at the Art Students League of New York and the Cooper Union Art School, and later taught at the Art Students League. Karl Fortess (1907-1993) was a Belgian-American painter and printmaker known for his modernist landscapes and wildlife studies; he too was a student and later a teacher at the Art Students League. Both Kaz and Fortess were also involved in various WPA projects.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Nathaniel Kaz Interview consists of one reel-to-reel tape, containing an interview of Kaz conducted by his colleagie, Karl Fortess, in 1967.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Fortess, Karl E. (Karl Eugene), 1907-
Kaz, Nathaniel, 1917-

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Bronze sculpture, American.
Sculptors -- United States.
Sculpture, American.
Sculpture, Modern -- 20th century -- History.
Sculpture, Modern -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Audiocassettes.
Interviews.

Occupations

Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Nathaniel Kaz Interview,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Karl Fortess, 1967.


Table of Contents

Audiorecordings


Inventory

Audiorecordings
SC 369 Interview 1967