Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Yousuf Karsh Photograph of Alfred Fuller

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 30 Jan 2017

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Karsh, Yousuf, 1908-2002.
Title: Yousuf Karsh Photograph of Alfred Fuller
Dates: before 1969
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Formal portrait of Alfred C. Fuller of the Fuller Brush Company, by noted photographer Yousuf Karsh.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Yousuf Karsh (1908-2002) was an Armenian-Canadian portrait photographer, recognized by Time magazine and the Metropolitan Museum of Art as one of the great portrait photographers of the 20th century.

Alfred Carl Fuller (1885-1973) was a Canadian-American businessman and founder of the Fuller Brush Company (1906). At the time this photograph was taken, he was chairman of the board.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Yousuf Karsh Photograph of Alfred Fuller consists of a single photograph, a formal portrait of Alfred C. Fuller of the Fuller Brush Company.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a few items of Yousuf Karsh correspondence in our other collections. Please search our collections to locate these items.


Subject Headings

Persons

Fuller, Alfred C. (Alfred Carl), 1885-1973.
Karsh, Yousuf, 1908-2002.

Corporate Bodies

Fuller Brush Company.

Subjects

Businesspeople -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Photographs.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Yousuf Karsh Photograph of Alfred Fuller,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Martin Bush, 1969.


Table of Contents

Photographs


Inventory

Photographs
SC 783 Fuller, Alfred before 1969 - black and white, with handwritten annotations on back, stamped "KARSH, OTTAWA"