Collection inventory


Finding Aids

John A. Joyce Typescript

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 26 May 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Joyce, John A. (John Alexander), 1842-1915.
Title: John A. Joyce Typescript
Dates: circa 1880
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Typescript of a poem entitled "The Third Term," a criticism of the idea of a third term for a United States President.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John A. Joyce (1842-1915) was an officer in the Union Army, 24th Kentucky Infantry, during the American Civil War. After the war Joyce was appointed a Revenue Agent in St. Louis. He was later convicted for taking part in the Whiskey Ring scandal (embezzlement of money from whiskey taxes), though he staunchly and consistently denied having done wrong and was pardoned by President Hayes in 1877. He became known for his poetry, publishing several collections including The Complete Poems of Colonel John A. Joyce and Peculiar Poems. His other books include his memoirs (A Checkered Life) and a biography of Edgar Allan Poe.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John A. Joyce Typescript consists of a carbon copy typescript of a poem entitled "The Third Term," with the signature "John A. Joyce" in ink preceded by the pencilled appellation "Col." The poem is a criticism of the idea of a third term for a United States President, and was probably written around 1880, on the occasion of Ulysses S. Grant's campaign for a third term.

The poem reads, in part: "A third term for the President / In this great freedom land / Shall never be established / While truth and valor stand / And dangerous dictators / Who live for power and pelf / Must be eliminated / and put upon the shelf."


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Grant, Ulysses S. (Ulysses Simpson), 1822-1885.
Joyce, John A. (John Alexander), 1842-1915.

Associated Titles

The third term.

Subjects

Poets, American.
Presidents -- Term of office -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Poems.
Typescripts.

Occupations

Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John A. Joyce Typescript,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1969.


Table of Contents

Poems


Inventory

Poems
SC 498 "The Third Term" circa 1880