Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Raymond Jonson Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 29 Jan 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Jonson, Raymond, 1891-1982.
Title: Raymond Jonson Collection
Dates: 1922-1960
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Exhibit announcements for the American modernist painter. Also includes an issue of New Mexico Review illustrated by Jonson.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Raymond Jonson (1891-1982) was an American modernist painter and teacher. As a young man (1912 to 1917) he was the lighting, stage set, costume and graphics designer for the Chicago Little Theatre, America's first experimental theater, and later founded the Transcendental Painting Group (1938). He organized the Modern Wing at the Museum of New Mexico and taught art classes at his Atalaya Art School and at the University of New Mexico, retiring as Professor Emeritus in 1954. In 1950 he established the Jonson Gallery on the UNM campus, and for the WPA he produced six large murals for the University. Much of his art focuses on the American Southwest.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Raymond Jonson Collection consists primarily of exhibit announcements and catalogs, spanning most of Jonson's career. There is also an issue of New Mexico Review (Winter 1949) illustrated by Jonson.


Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Two exhibit catalogs have been transferred to Rare Books for cataloging; please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.

The circulating collection holds several books about Jonson and his work, including The art of Raymond Jonson, with a foreword by Elaine de Kooning. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.


Subject Headings

Persons

Jonson, Raymond, 1891-1982 -- Exhibitions.

Subjects

Art -- New Mexico.
Art, American -- 20th century.
Artists -- New Mexico.
Painters -- New Mexico.

Genres and Forms

Exhibition catalogs.

Occupations

Artists.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Raymond Jonson Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Memorabilia


Inventory

Memorabilia
SC 375 Exhibit catalogs, other 1922-1960