Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Jeff Jones Illustrations

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 10 Apr 2017

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Jones, Jeff, 1944-2011.
Title: Jeff Jones Illustrations
Dates: before 1974
Quantity: 1 folder
Abstract: Original ink illustrations for the book The Catskill Witch by James McMurry.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Jeffrey Catherine Jones (1944-2011) was an American artist and illustrator. Jones' work included fine art but also commercial work, such as book covers, book illustrations, and covers for issues of Heavy Metal and Marvel and DC Comics. Although Jones first achieved fame as Jeff Jones and lived for a time as male, she later changed her name and was legally recognized as female.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jeff Jones Illustrations contains original pen-and-ink illustrations for The Catskill Witch (1974), written by James McMurry and published by Syracuse University Press.


Arrangement of the Collection

Original order, presumably as they appear in the book.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

A published version of the book is also available. Please refer tothe Classic Catalog to locate this item.


Subject Headings

Persons

Jones, Jeff, 1944-2011.

Associated Titles

The catskill witch.

Subjects

Children's literature.
Illustrated children's books.
Transgender artists.

Genres and Forms

Drawings.
Pen and ink drawings.

Occupations

Illustrators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jeff Jones Illustrations,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.


Table of Contents

Artwork, original


Inventory

Artwork, original
SC 798 The Catskill Witch illustrations before 1974