Collection inventory


Finding Aids

E. Stanley Jones Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 17 Feb 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Jones, E. Stanley (Eli Stanley), 1884-1973.
Title: E. Stanley Jones Papers
Dates: 1955
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Manuscripts and one of Jones' books, The Christ of the Mount.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

E. (Eli) Stanley Jones (1884-1973) was an American Methodist missionary, theologian, and author. He spent much of his career in India, attempting to present Christianity in a "pure" form, without attaching Western European culture to it. He eventually became involved in the issue of Indian independence from Great Britain and participated in numerous political negotiations. He wrote a biography of Mahatma Gandhi, with whom he was good friends, and was influential in establishing freedom of religion in post-colonial India. His wife Mabel Lossing was also a missionary.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The E. Stanley Jones Papers consists of manuscripts and one published book, The Christ of the Mount.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a substantial amount of material relating to Methodism and missionaries in both our manuscript collections and our Rare Books holdings. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing of manuscript collections, and to the Classic Catalog for cataloged items such as books and pamphlets.


Subject Headings

Persons

Jones, E. Stanley (Eli Stanley), 1884-1973.

Corporate Bodies

Methodist Church -- Missions.

Subjects

Missionaries -- India.
Missions -- India.

Places

India -- Religious life and customs.

Genres and Forms

Books.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Missionaries.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

E. Stanley Jones Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mrs. J. K. Matthews (daughter), 1965.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.