Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Harold Jones Collection of Salvador Dali and Joseph Forêt

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 25 May 2017

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Jones, Harold Grover, 1941-
Title: Harold Jones Collection of Salvador Dali and Joseph Forêt
Dates: 1956-1963
Quantity: 8 linear ft. (oversize flat boxes)
Abstract: Artwork and memorabilia relating to surrealist artist Salvador Dali and his collaborations with French publisher Joseph Forêt on illustrated editions of La Divina Commedia (Dante), Don Quichotte de la Mancha (Cervantes), and L'Apocalypse de St. Jean. The material was collected by Syracuse University Professor Emeritus Harold Jones.
Language: English, Spanish, Italian
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Harold Grover Jones (1941- ) is Professor Emeritus of Spanish at Syracuse University. He earned his PhD in Spanish Literature at Princeton in 1968. Prior to coming to Syracuse he taught at Macalester College, the University of Missouri, and the University of Houston, where he was chair of the Department of Hispanic and Classical Languages. He came to Syracuse University in 1988, where he served as chair of the department for nine years (1988 to 1997) and program coordinator of Spanish for the following six years.

Salvador Dali (1904-1989) was a prominent Spanish surrealist artist known for his striking and bizarre images. An eccentric and grandiose creative genius, he worked in a variety of media including printmaking and painting but also film, sculpture, and photography, and frequently collaborated with other artists.

Joseph Forêt was a French publisher. Between 1956 and 1963, he and Salvador Dalí collaborated to produce fine illustrated editions of Dante’s Divine Comedy, Cervantes’s Don Quixote, and Saint John’s Apocalypse. All three are notable for their size, lush artwork, attention to detail, and fine craftsmanship.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Harold Jones Collection of Salvador Dali and Joseph Forêt consists of artwork and a few items of memorabilia.

Artwork contains portfolios of prints from the La Divina Commedia, L'Apocalypse de St. Jean, and Don Quichotte (Don Quixote) and a few individual prints. There are also a few items by French artist Pierre-Yves Trémois.

Memorabilia contains photographs of Dali with Parisian publisher Joseph Forêt and a few items with Dali's signature.


Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged as necessary for appropriate storage and protection, but is listed in the inventory below in alphabetical order by type or title. Folders are numbered consecutively across the entire collection.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

A number of published items have been transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog and search on "Gift of Harold G. Jones" to locate these items.


Subject Headings

Persons

Cervantes Saavedra, Miguel de, 1547-1616.
Dalí, Salvador, 1904-1989.
Dante Alighieri, 1265-1321.
Foret, Joseph.
Jones, Harold Grover, 1941-
Trémois, Pierre Yves, 1921-

Associated Titles

Bible. -- Revelation.

Subjects

Art, Modern -- 20th century.
Grotesque in art.
Illustration of books.
Painting, Modern -- 20th century.
Surrealism.

Genres and Forms

Lithographs.
Memorabilia.
Printing plates.
Prints (visual works)

Occupations

Artists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Harold Jones Collection of Salvador Dali and Joseph Forêt,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of/purchase from Harold Jones, 2016.


Table of Contents

Artwork

Memorabilia


Inventory

Artwork
Portfolios
Oversize 4, Folder 1 Blue portfolio, small, containing prints from copy A of Don Quichotte 1957 (5 items)
Don Quixote L'Age Dor, on parchment
Don Quixote L'Age Dor, on paper
Attack on the windmills, on vellum[?]
Unidentified, on paper (2 copies, appear to be identical)
Oversize 4, Folder 2 Blue portfolio, large, containing prints from copy A of Don Quichotte de la Manche 1957
Prints
Oversize 1, Folder 3 L'Apocalypse de St. Jean, "L'Hostie" [The Host]
Oversize 3, Folder 4 L'Apocalypse de St. Jean, "La Pieta"
Oversize 1, Folder 5 Don Quichotte de la Manche 1957 - a suite on Papier Japon Imperial of the 12 lithographs and the rare 13th lithograph "Exploding head of Don Quichotte" (13 items)
Oversize 1, Folder 6 Inferno 18, "The Flatterer"
Oversize 1, Folder 6 Paradiso 71, "Beatrice"
Oversize 1, Folder 6 Purgatorio 29, "Meeting of Dante and Beatrice"
Oversize 3, Folder 7 "Santiago el Grande," number 135 of 172 1958
Oversize 2 Unidentified print on silk
Miscellaneous
Oversize 1, Folder 6 L'Apocalypse, unidentified sketch - winged figure looking down and to the left, one hand on chest and one outstretched; includes pencil, pen, other media; annotated on back in French beginning "Le troisième [illegible] / Dieu [illegible] à l'agneau les destinées du monde..."
Oversize 1, Folder 6 The End of Man / La Fin de l'homme, by Pierre-Yves Trémois 1961
Oversize 1, Folder 6 The Locusts of Destruction / La Sauterelle apollyon, by Pierre-Yves Trémois 1961 - 2 versions, one gray and yellow and the other monochrome grays (2 items)
Memorabilia
Oversize 2 Money, signed by Dali (2 items)
Oversize 2 Photographs
Joseph Forêt holding copy of L'Apocalypse
Joseph Forêt and Salvador Dali in Monaco
Salvador Dali in Monaco
Salvador Dali
Oversize 3, Folder 8 Portrait of Dali, painted by street artist in India
Oversize 5, Folder 9 Printing plate for Inferno 18, "The Flatterer" - copper plate for this print, including Dali's signature at bottom center