Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Alexander F. Jones Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: DMW
Date: 11 Oct 1979

Revision history:
24 Jul 2007 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Jones, Alexander F.
Title: Alexander F. Jones Papers
Dates: 1950-1967
Quantity: 6.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American journalist, newspaper editor; died 1966. Collection includes clippings of Jones' editorials in the Syracuse Herald-Journal and letters responding to public correspondence pages.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Alexander F. Jones was an American journalist.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Alexander F. Jones Papers consist of one series, Newspaper clippings, containing Jones' editorials written for the Syracuse Herald-Journal and letters written in answer to the newspaper column "Correspondence."


Arrangement of the Collection

Clippings are arranged chronologically, with editorials and letters interfiled.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Jones, Alexander F.

Subjects

Editorials.
Journalism.
Journalists, United States.
Letters to the editor.
Newspaper editors, New York (State), Syracuse.
Newspapers, Sections, columns, etc.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)

Occupations

Editors.
Journalists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Alexander F. Jones Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Newspaper clippings


Inventory

Newspaper clippings
Box 1 1950-1955
Box 2 1955-1960
Box 3 1954-1957
Box 4 1955-1958
Box 5 1959-1960
Box 6 1961-1964
Box 7 1964-1967