Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Alfred Cheney Johnston Photographs

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 6 Jun 2017

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Alfred Cheney Johnston Photographs
Dates: 1917-1935
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Photographs by Alfred Cheney Johnston
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Alfred Cheney Johnston (1885-1971) was a New York City-based photographer known for his portraits. In addition to his own studio work, Johnston was employed by live-theater showman and producer Florenz Ziegfeld for more than fifteen years and photographed hundreds of the "Ziegfeld Follies" dancers.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Alfred Cheney Johnston Photographs contains 120 photographs taken by the New York City photographer, a mix of vintage gelatin silver contact prints (1917-1935) and later reproductions (circa 1988-early 1990s). Unfortunately none of the subjects are identified, but almost all are women.


Arrangement of the Collection

No order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Johnston, Alfred Cheney, 1885-1971.

Corporate Bodies

Ziegfeld follies.

Subjects

Actors -- United States -- Photographs.
Actresses -- United States -- Photographs.
Dancers -- United States -- Photographs.
Popular culture -- United States -- Photographs.
Showgirls -- United States -- Photographs.

Genres and Forms

Photographs.

Occupations

Photographers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Alfred Cheney Johnston Photographs,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of George R. Rinhart and Frank A. DiMauro, 2017, in honor of Joan Bryant.


Table of Contents

Photographs


Inventory

Photographs
Oversize 1 Photographs
Oversize 2 Photographs