Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Jefferson School of Social Science Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 21 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Jefferson School of Social Science (New York, N.Y.)
Title: Jefferson School of Social Science Collection
Dates: 1950-1956
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: "Progressive school for working people." Collection contains a trifold brochure and a course catalog.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Jefferson School of Social Science (1943-1956) was a Marxist adult education institute in New York City associated with the Communist Party, USA. At its height it had as many as 5000 students.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jefferson School of Social Science Collection consists of a trifold brochure describing the school and summarizing entrance and application information, and a course catalog from the fall term of 1950.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the California Labor School Collection for similar material.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Jefferson School of Social Science (New York, N.Y.)

Subjects

Education -- Political aspects -- United States -- History -- 20th century.
Socialism and education -- United States.
Working class -- Education -- United States -- History -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Brochures.
Course catalogs.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jefferson School of Social Science Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2010.


Table of Contents

Printed material


Inventory

Printed material
SC 629 Course catalog, brochure 1950, 1956