Collection inventory


Finding Aids

William James Letter

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 26 May 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: James, William, fl. 1876.
Title: William James Letter
Dates: 1876
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter from Onondaga County District Attorney William James to Nathan Randall Chapman of Fayetteville regarding a court case.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

William James (dates unknown) was the District Attorney for Onondaga County in Syracuse, New York. According to the Encyclopedia of Biography of New York: A Life Record of Men and Women of the Past (Boston: 1916), Volume 4, p. 267 he was for a time in partnership with another attorney, John Charles Meldram. Nothing more is known about him.

According to the same volume, p. 175, Nathan Randall Chapman (d. 1897) practiced law in Fayetteville, New York for 57 years. His son Levi Snell Chapman was also an attorney and legislator.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William James Letter consists of a single letter by James to fellow attorney Nathan Randall Chapman, concerning the case of one Patrick Feeney. No details of the case are given.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Chapman, Nathan Randall.
James, William, fl. 1876.

Subjects

Law -- New York (State) -- Onondaga County.
Public prosecutors -- New York (State)

Places

Onondaga County (N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Lawyers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William James Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer H.L.A., 1971.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 495 Chapman, Nathan Randall ("Dear Sir") 27 Sep 1876