Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Henry James Letter

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 26 May 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: James, Henry, 1843-1916.
Title: Henry James Letter
Dates: 1890
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter from American author Henry James to Lady Grant Duff, regarding a dinner invitation.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Henry James (1843-1916) was an American author whose novels are often cited as excellent examples of 19th-century literary realism. Many of his books dealt with Americans' iinteractions with Europe and Europeans. James spent nearly half his life in England and became a British citizen shortly before his death.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Henry James Letter consists of a single letter by James, written to Lady Grant Duff, wife of Sir Mountstuart Elphinstone Grant Duff. The letter gives James' regrets for having to decline a dinner invitation from the couple. Apparently James wished to avoid another dinner guest, as he writes in part, "But I was well advised, for I was in for a more pertinacious attack of this queer little pestilence than I ever supposed." Unfortunately the identity of the "pestilence" is unknown.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

James, Henry, 1843-1916.

Subjects

Authors, American -- 20th century -- Correspondence.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Henry James Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Kohen Collection, 1969.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 494 "Dear Lady Grant Duff" 20 Jan 1890