Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

Joseph W. Jacques Interviews

An inventory of his recordings at Syracuse University


The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: -
Date: Oct 1976



Biographical History

Joseph W. Jacques, PhD in Adult Education, received his doctorate from Florida State University and later was on the faculty at Montclair State College. The interviews in this collection were conducted by Jacques as part of the basis for his doctoral dissertation.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Joseph W. Jacques Interviews consists of taped interviews and writings.

Interviews, conducted by Jacques as part of his research for his doctoral dissertation, are with eleven established leaders in the field of adult education in the United States: Mary Armstrong, Robert J. Blakely, Leland P. Bradford, Mary Louise Collings, Paul L. Essert, Wilbur C. Hallenbeck, Sam Hand, Andrew Hendrickson, Eugene I. Johnson, Howard Y. McClusky, and Ralph B. Spence. Following a format of structured questions, but allowing for free-wheeling discussion, Jacques' tapes probe the leaders' formative lives and educational experiences; their philosophies of living and of education; and their beliefs and opinions concerning current trends and the status of adult education in the United States. These 21 reels of recordings were made between March and May of 1972, and include much material not contained within Jacques' formal dissertation. The collection does not contain transcripts of the interviews.

Writings contains a copy of Jacques' doctoral dissertation which was based on the interviews and includes extensive excerpts.


Arrangement of the Collection

Tapes have been assigned ID numbers in no particular order. For ease of access, they are listed in the inventory below in alphabetical order. Please request by title and ID number.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

All tapes have been digitized, however access to digital files may require advance notice for creation of a reading room copy.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Tapes have been digitized. Contact the repository listed above for more information.

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. In particular, see the Wilbur C. Hallenbeck Papers and the Andrew Hendrickson Papers.


Subject Headings

Persons

Hallenbeck, Wilbur C. (Wilbur Chapman), 1892-1986.
Armstrong, Mary.
Blakely, R. J.
Bradford, Leland P. (Leland Powers), 1905-1981.
Collings, Mary L.
Essert, Paul L.
Hand, Samuel E.
Hendrickson, Andrew, 1899-
Jacques, Joseph W.
Johnson, Eugene I.
McClusky, Howard Y., 1900-1982.
Spence, Ralph Beckett, 1901-1990.

Subjects

Adult education -- United States.
Educators -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Audiocassettes.
Dissertations.
Oral histories (document genres)
Sound recordings.
Tape reels.

Occupations

Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Joseph W. Jacques Interviews,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Joseph W. Jacques, 1976.


Table of Contents

Interviews

Writings


Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

Tapes have been digitized. Contact the repository listed above for more information.