Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

Robert A. Jacobs Photographs

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: DMB
Date: 7 Jul 1978



Biographical History

Robert A. Jacobs (1905-1993) was an American architect. Jacobs graduated from Amherst College and Columbia University's School of Architecture and spent his early years working for Le Corbusier in Paris and Wallace K. Harrison in New York. In 1940, he partnered with Ely Jacques Kahn to form Kahn & Jacobs (later in 1972 the firm merged with Hellmuth, Obata & Kassabaum). For forty years the firm designed and built numerous structures in New York City, including the American Airlines terminal at Kennedy International Airport, the office building One Astor Plaza, and the Municipal Asphalt Plant at 90th Street and East River Drive, named by the Museum of Modern Art as one of the best designs of the 1930s and 1940s.

Jacobs was a fellow of the American Institute of Architects and a member of the Architectural League of New York.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Robert A. Jacobs Photographs consist of photographs of Jacobs' architectural projects.


Arrangement of the Collection

Photographs are in no particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center holds the papers of many notable architects. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Jacobs, Robert Allan.

Corporate Bodies

Kahn and Jacobs (New York, N.Y.)

Subjects

Architects -- United States.
Architectural drawing.
Architecture -- United States -- 20th century.
Architecture -- United States.
Architecture, American.
Architecture, Domestic.
Architecture, Industrial.
Photography, Architectural.

Genres and Forms

Photographs.

Occupations

Architects.
Sketches.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Robert A. Jacobs Photographs,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Photographs

Alphabetical index of projects


Inventory

Alphabetical index of projects


Alphabetical index of projects