Collection inventory


Finding Aids

William Henry Jackson Photochroms

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 9 Sep 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Jackson, William Henry, 1843-1942
Title: William Henry Jackson Photochroms
Dates: circa 1895-1908
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft. (88 items)
Abstract: Photographs taken by the American landscape photographer, of various locations in the American West and Southwest.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

William Henry Jackson (1843-1942) was an American painter, photographer and explorer. Although he ran a portrait studio for a time, he was more interested in the natural landscape, and became known for his photographs of the American West. His photographs were the first ever published of the Yellowstone area, and contributed to its recognition as a national park. [Adapted from J. Paul Getty Museum's page on Jackson.]

The Photochrom process, a type of chromolithography developed in Switzerland, was a labor-intensive method of turning black-and-white photographs in to color prints, notable for their depth and richness. It was licensed in America by the Detroit Photographic Company in the 1890s, of which company Jackson became a partner.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William Henry Jackson Photochroms consists of eighty-eight Photochroms (chromolithographs) taken by American landscape photographer William Henry Jackson. Many are of areas in Colorado, including Cheyenne Mountain and Mount Manitou; others are of California, New Mexico, the Niagara Falls/Thousand Islands area, and Mexico.

The inventory below was provided by the donor, and for the most part reproduces information appearing on the item itself. Information in square brackets was added by Special Collections Research Center staff during processing. "Birth of a Century" plate numbers refer to The Birth of a Century: Early Color Photographs of America, a collection of Jackson's images published in 1999 by I. B. Tauris & Company. Images are listed in the inventory by topic, but are arranged in the box first by size and within that by image number.


Arrangement of the Collection

Although listed in the inventory by topic, the items are arranged in the box first by size and within that by image number.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.Gloves must be work when working with the photographs.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

A copy of The Birth of a Century: Early Color Photographs of America, a collection of Jackson's images published in 1999 by I. B. Tauris & Company, is available in general collections; please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate this item.


Subject Headings

Persons

Jackson, William Henry, 1843-1942.

Subjects

Landscape photography -- West (U.S.)
Outdoor photography.
Photographers -- 19th century -- United States.

Places

California -- Pictorial works.
Colorado -- Pictorial works.
Mexico -- Pictorial works.
New Mexico -- Pictorial works.
West (U.S.) -- Pictorial works.

Genres and Forms

Photochroms.
Photographs.

Occupations

Photographer.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William Henry Jackson Photochroms,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Caroline M. Baillon, 2015.


Table of Contents

Photographs


Inventory

Photographs
Colorado
Box 1 Image #2 Rios los Animos Cañon [Colorado?] 4.5x6.5
Box 1 Image #6 Cheyenne Mountain [Colorado] 4.5x6.5
Box 1 Image #10 Balanced Rock, Garden of the Gods, 1908 [Colorado]4.5x6.5
Box 1 Image #14 Lake San Cristobal, 1898 [Colorado]4.5x6.5
Box 1 Image #16 Birth of a century: Plate 34 Mount of the Holy Cross [Colorado] 4.5x6.5
Box 1 Image #23 Ute Pass [Colorado] 4.5x6.5
Box 1 Image #30 The Old Roadmaster, Clear Creek Cañon [Colorado] 4.5x6.5
Box 1 Image #51001 Cheyenne Mountain, Colorado 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51002 Pike's Peak from near Colorado City 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51007 Manitou, Colorado 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51017 Ouray [Colorado] 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51018 Ouray and Silverton toll road [Colorado] 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51019 Rockie Mountain "Canaries" [Colorado] 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51023 Currecanti Needle, Black Cañon, Colorado 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51025 Needle Mountains, Colorado 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51027 Dome Rock, Platte Cañon, Colorado 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51028 Snowy Range from Bellevue, Colorado 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51042 Birth of a century: Plate 58a, Colorado, Aspen silver mines 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51043 Colorado, "American-Netti" mine, Ouray 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51044 Colorado, placer mining 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51047 Colorado, miner's cabin in winter 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51049 Birth of a century: Plate 60 Colorado, dug out cabins 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51050 Colorado, a pioneer merchant 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51051 Colorado, burros at silver mine 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51054 Colorado, pack train on mountain road 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51055 Birth of a century: Plate 59a Colorado, burros loaded with lumber 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51061 Colorado, The roundup, roping a steer 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51063 Colorado, Mt. Sopris from Spring Gulch Mine 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51073 Fishing on Williams Fork, Middle Fork, Colorado 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #53103 Royal Gorge, Colorado 7x9
Box 1 Image #53130 Colorado, the Sangre de Cristo from Poncha Pass, 18987x9
Box 1 Image #53136 Mount of the Holy Cross [Colorado] 7x9
Box 1 Image #53151 Birth of a century: Plate 22 Silverton & Sultan Mountain, Colorado 7x9
Box 1 Image #53153 Long's Peak from Mont Alto, Colorado 19017x9
Box 1 Image #53205 Bluffs of the Green River, 1898 [Colorado]7x9
Box 1 Image #[none; donor lists as 14142] Mount of the Holy Cross in the clouds [Colorado] 7x9
New York
Box 1 Image #41 American Fall from Goat Island, Niagara [New York] 4.5x6.5
Box 1 Image #45 Horseshoe Fall, Niagara [New York] 4.5x6.5
Box 1 Image #49 Whirlpool Rapids, Niagara [New York] 4.5x6.5
Box 1 Image #51104 The rapids above the falls, Niagara [New York] 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51109 The Horseshoe Fall, Niagara [New York] 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51356 Palisades Rift, Thousand Islands, 1901 [New York]3.5x7
California
Box 1 Image #51144 California, Mirror Lake, Yosemite Valley 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51170 California, palms at Glen Annie 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51202 West Side Park, Los Angeles [California] 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51221 Yucca cactus at Hesperia, California 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51265 Ramona's Marriage Place, San Diego Cal [California] 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51266 The Lodge, Golden Gate Park, San Francisco, Cal [California] 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51312 Lake Merritt, Oakland, California 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51313 Alligator Head, La Jolla [California] 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51316 The Country Club, Pasadena [California] 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51335 Main entrance & driveway, Leland Stanford Junior University [California] 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51337 Western entrance to inner quadrangle, Leland Stanford Junior University [California] 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51338 Encina Hall, Leland Stanford Junior University [California] 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51370 Grape fruit 1902 [California]3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51398 The Golden Gate, San Francisco 1901 [California]3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51399 Seal Rocks, 1901 [California]3.5x7
Box 1 Image #53006 Lick Observatory, Mt. Hamilton, Cal. 1902 [California]7x9
Box 1 Image #53026 Mission Santa Inez 1898 [California] 7x9
Box 1 Image #53074 Birth of a century: Plate 105, Castle Crags from near Castella, California 7x9
Box 1 Image #53077 Birth of a century: Plate 98b Farnsworth's Loop, Santa Catalina Island [California] 7x9
Box 1 Image #53089 California poppies, 18997x9
Mexico
Box 1 Image #51147 The altar, Church of Guadelupe, City of Mexico 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51148 Lavanderas, City of Mexico 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51149 Canal de la Viga, City of Mexico 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51150 Aztec calendar stone, City of Mexico 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51151 Aztec sacrifical stone, City of Mexico 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51152 Mexico, an Aztec idol, Teoyaomiqui 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51154 Mexican carrete, Chihuahua 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51155 Mexico portales of market, Aguas Calientes 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51162 Mexico, a pulque shop, Tacubaya 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51165 A Mexican hacienda 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51166 Mexico, Falls of Juanacatlan 3.5x7
New Mexico
Box 1 Image #51236 Relics of an ancient race, Pueblo of San Juan, N.M. [New Mexico] 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51285 Going to the spring, Pueblo of San Juan, N.M. [New Mexico] 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51286 An "estufa", Pueblo of Taos, N.M. [New Mexico] 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51287 Packing wood, Santa Fe, N.M. [New Mexico] 3.5x7
Canada
Box 1 Image #51348 Champlain statue, Quebec 1901 [Canada]3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51349 Wolfe and Montcalm Monument, Quebec 1901 [Canada]3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51358 Str. Toronto, St. Lawrence River, 1901 [Canada]3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51368 Champlain Street, Quebec [Canada] 3.5x7
Miscellaneous/unidentified
Box 1 Image #1 Alpine Pass 4.5x6.5
Box 1 Image #51128 Michigan, the lighthouse, Palmer Peak, Detroit 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51206 Birth of a century: Plate 85, Woman at the matate, Moki Pueblos, 18953.5x7
Box 1 Image #51210 Bringing in the harvest, Moki Pueblos, ca. 19023.5x7
Box 1 Image #51211 A Chinese maiden 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51228 Dogwood blossoms 3.5x7
Box 1 Image #51271 Old house at Far Hills, N.J. [New Jersey] 3.5x7