Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Lee Jackson Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Jul 1967

Revision history:
12 Mar 2007 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Jackson, Lee, 1909-
Title: Lee Jackson Papers
Dates: 1915-1964
Quantity: 0.3 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American painter. Collection includes correspondence, exhibition catalogs, photographs of work, articles and clippings about Jackson.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Lee Jackson (1909-2002) was an American painter known for his figure and animal paintings.

Born in New York City on February 2, 1909, he studied at the Art Students League in New York and with the artists William McNulty, George Luks and John Sloan. His work has been exhibited at the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts, National Academy of Design, Golden Gate Exposition in San Francisco in 1939, Carnegie Institute, Whitney Museum of American Art, Art Institute of Chicago, Audubon Association, Boston Museum of Fine Arts and many other major museums. He also had one-man shows at several galleries in the United States and Canada.

Jackson was a member of the Art Students League, the Audubon Association, Artists Equity Association, and the American Watercolor Society. He won prizes from Grumbacher (1951) and the National Academy of Design (1951) and received a Guggenheim Fellowship in 1941.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Lee Jackson Papers consist of biographical material, correspondence, subject files and published material.


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is subdivided into incoming, arranged chronologically, and one outgoing item. Subject files are arranged alphabetically. Published material is subdivided by type and arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Jackson, Lee, 1909-

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century.
Painting, American.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.
Photographs.

Occupations

Artists.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Lee Jackson Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Biographical material

Correspondence

Subject files

Published material


Inventory

Biographical material
Box 1 Miscellaneous undated - biographical sketch, list of Jackson's works
Correspondence
Box 1 Incoming 1940-1941, 1943, 1945, 1947-1951, 1964
Box 1 Outgoing 1948
Subject files
Box 1 Exhibition catalogs 1939, 1941, 1943, 1949, 1951
Box 1 Invitation undated
Photographs
Box 1 Of Jackson 1915, 1940, 1949
Box 1 Of Jackson's work 1935, 1938, 1940-1941, 1946-1947, 1949
Published material
Box 1 Magazine articles about 1953 - includes reproduction of work
Box 1 Newspaper clippings about Jackson and his work 1941, 1943, 1945-1947, 1949