Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

Institutes of Religion and Health Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: CAK
Date: Jun 1979



Biographical History

The Institutes of Religion and Health was formed by the merger of the Academy of Religion and Mental Health and the American Foundation of Religion and Psychiatry, with its Blanton-Peale Graduate Institute. The merger combined the resources of two long established and widely known interfaith, interracial, interdisciplinary, nonprofit, tax-exempt agencies serving human health and well-being.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Institutes of Religion and Health Records comprises organizational records including general files, correspondence, financial records (balance sheets, budgets), and printed material (annual reports, bulletins, newsletters). The material is divided into four series.

General files contain organizational material dating from 1951 when the Institutes were first incorporated as the American Foundation of Religion and Psychiatry. This series also contains materials relating to the three main functions of the Institutes -- a mental health clinic, pastoral counseling training, and social research.

Correspondence includes Director's and two other individuals (Dr. Maxfield, Mr. C. W. Stone) and correspondence with the New York City Mental Health Board as well as nearly ten years of general correspondence.

Financial papers comprises balance sheets, budgets, financial forecasts and reports, financial statements, and monthly balance sheets.

Printed material includes fliers, brochures, newsletters, public relations, and issues of The Pastoral Counselor and Thought and Worship.


Arrangement of the Collection

All series are arranged alphabetically by type or title; subseries of correspondence are arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Blanton, Smiley, 1882-1966.
Peale, Norman Vincent, 1898-1993.

Corporate Bodies

Academy of Religion and Mental Health.
American Foundation of Religion and Psychiatry.
Blanton-Peale Graduate Institute.
Institutes of Religion and Health (New York, N.Y.), Archives.

Subjects

Medical social work.
Medicine, Religious aspects.
Mental health counseling.
Mental health, Religious aspects.
Pastoral counseling.
Psychiatry and religion.
Social service, United States.

Genres and Forms

Annual reports.
Balance sheets.
Budgets.
Bulletins.
Correspondence.
Minutes.
Newsletters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Institutes of Religion and Health Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

General files

Correspondence

Financial material

Printed material


Inventory