Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Roy J. Ingham Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: EEA
Date: Jul 1991

Revision history:
26 Dec 2007 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Ingham, Roy John, 1925-
Title: Roy J. Ingham Papers
Dates: 1944-1977
Quantity: 1.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the adult educator, Florida State University. Papers include speeches, surveys and reports, in addition to some publications, primarily abstracts and bibliographies.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Roy J. Ingham was an American adult education scholar and teacher. He taught at the University of Chicago while earning his doctorate from that institution, served as Program Advisor at Syracuse University's University College, and was for many years a faculty member of the Florida State University Adult Education program.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Roy J. Ingham Papers is composed primarily of papers (surveys and reports) and publications (including a number of abstracts and bibliographies) collected by Ingham, the bulk dated 1961-1972. Most of the material reflects Ingham's interest in university adult education. A large portion deals with research into and theory of the nature of adult learning, both in general and in higher education settings.

The material is divided into five series. Professional work consists of two surveys of graduate programs in adult education. University adult education contains addresses, bibliographies, papers, and reports as well as information on the Antigonish Movement and on Florida State University degree programs. General theory and research includes books, abstracts, papers, and reports on adult literacy and adult learning. Organizations comprises correspondence and other material relating to various adult education organizations, including the Association of University Evening Colleges (AUEC), Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA), the Fund for Adult Education (FAE), and the National Association of Public School Adult Educators (NAPSAE). A small amount of Miscellaneous material completes the collection.


Arrangement of the Collection

All series are arranged alphabetically by folder title.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

A large number of pamphlets were removed from the collection and transferred to the Adult Education Pamphlets Collection. Other pamphlets were duplicates of material already found in the general collection of E.S. Bird Library (listed at the end of this inventory), or in other adult education collections.

Special Collections Research Center holds a large number of collections relating to adult education, both of individuals and organizations. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Ingham, Roy John, 1925- Archives.

Subjects

Adult education.
Educators, United States.

Genres and Forms

Reports.
Speeches.

Occupations

Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Roy J. Ingham Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Professional work

University adult education

General theory and research

Organizations

Miscellaneous


Inventory

Professional work
Box 1 "A survey of graduate programs in adult education in the U.S. and Canada" 1968, 1970
Box 1 Survey of graduate programs 1977 - correspondence, outline, form
University adult education
Addresses
Box 1 Graduate extension education 1958
Box 1 "The role of the university in social change" 1965
Box 1 Antigonish movement 1944-1969
Box 1 Bibliography: "University adult education: a selected bibliography" by Roger and Karen DeCrow 1967
Box 1 Instructional techniques 1969
Box 1 Florida State University, Division of Instructional Research, newsletter 1969
Degree programs
Box 1 Correspondence 1977
Box 1 Directory and analysis - Griffith and Cloutier 1972
Box 1 Organizational patterns of programs 1967
Box 1 Rollins College survey 1976
Papers
Box 1 "The idea of the urban extension service" undated
Box 1 Reprints 1961
Reports
Box 1 Carnegie Commission report 1971
Box 1 "The evening faculty" 1964
Box 2 "Factors associated with the achievement of adult students" 1964
Box 2 "Problems in administering general university extension programs" 1967
General theory and research
Abstracts: Knox et al
Box 2 "Adult learning" 1961
Box 2 "Adult life cycle" 1962
Box 2 "Adult participation" 1961
Book excerpt: Human communication undated
Papers
Box 2 Adult learning: Review of studies 1959
Box 2 Psychological backgrounds of adult education 1962
Box 2 Teacher behavior 1960
Box 2 Toward a model of lifelong learning (Malcolm Knowles) 1972
Box 2 Participation undated
Box 2 Report: The pursuit of excellence 1958
Organizations
Association of University Evening Colleges (AUEC)
Box 2 Miscellaneous 1963
Box 2 "From the Dean's Desk" 1965-1969
Box 2 Report - Liveright; paper 1966
Box 2 Center for the Study of Evaluation 1960s - publication list
Box 2 Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA) 1960 - programming
Box 3 Florida State Department of Education 1976 - "Competencies of adult educators"
Box 3 Fund for Adult Education (FAE) 1958-1961 - proposal, report
Box 3 National Association of Public School Adult Educators (NAPSEA) 1969 - report
Miscellaneous
Box 3 Community education/development 1954-1971
Box 3 Florida Ten Million, Alfred North Whitehead 1973?
Box 3 Group discussion bibliography undated
Box 3 Planning for continuing education 1971 - remarks
Box 3 Public school adult education 1949, 1960
Box 3 Report: "Financing adult education in America's public schools and community councils" undated
Ford Foundation. Urban extension: A report on experimental programs. New York: Ford Foundation 1966
Transferred to general collection for cataloging.
Fund for Adult Education. The ten-year report, 1951-1961. New York: Fund for Adult Education undated
Transferred to general collection for cataloging.
McMahon, Ernest E. Evening college: The second big chance. New York: Public Affairs Committee 1968
Transferred to general collection for cataloging.
National Advisory Council on Adult Education (NACAE). Annual report. Washington, D.C.: National Advisory Council on Adult Education 1972
Transferred to general collection for cataloging.
United States. The President's Committee on Education Beyond the High School. First interim report to the President. Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office 1956
Transferred to general collection for cataloging.