Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Indian Religious Posters Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 10 Feb 2011

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Indian Religious Posters Collection
Dates: circa 1940-1980
Quantity: 3 linear ft. (1 oversize box)
Abstract: Printed material with images of figures from the Hindu religion, including Ganesh, Shiva, Vishnu, Rama and others.
Language: Hindi
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The H. Daniel Smith Poster Archive is an extensive and well-documented collection of visual material depicting Hindu gods, goddesses, saints and sacred sites. The Indian Religious Posters Collection was created by Special Collections Research Center to accommodate gifts of material from other donors that relate to or supplement this collection.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Indian Religious Posters Collection contains commercially-produced visual material depicting Hindu gods, goddesses, saints and sacred sites. Personages represented include Ganesh, Shiva, Vishnu, Rama and others. The material is of various formats, from calendar pages to posters to reproduced photographs of holy men.


Arrangement of the Collection

The material is divided by donor. Within that, items are in no particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the H. Daniel Smith Poster Archive.


Subject Headings

Subjects

Ganesa (Hindu deity) in art.
Hindu gods -- Posters.
Hindu gods in art.
Hindu symbolism -- Specimens.
Hinduism.
Karttikeya (Hindu deity) in art.
Popular culture -- India.
Popular culture -- Religious aspects -- India.
Rama (Hindu deity) in art.
Siva (Hindu deity) in art.
Vishnu (Hindu deity) in art.

Genres and Forms

Posters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Indian Religious Posters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Portions gift of Dr. Frederic Spiegelberg, 1987.

Portions gift of Jack Hawley, 2011.


Table of Contents

Printed material


Inventory

Printed material
Oversize 1 Hawley donation circa 1940-1980 (21 items)
Oversize 1 Spiegelberg donation circa 1940-1980 (39 items)