Collection inventory


Finding Aids

The Independent Editor's Correspondence

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 30 Jun 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Independent (New York, N.Y. : 1848)
Title: The Independent Editor's Correspondence
Dates: 1883-1913
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letters to and from the editor of the The Independent, a New York City anti-slavery newspaper of the 19th century.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The The Independent was a pre-civil war anti-slavery newspaper founded in 1848 by Henry C. Bowen, a businessman, journalist and philanthropist from Woodstock, Connecticut. Originally a Congregationalist journal, the The Independent became interdenominational and increasingly involved in political issues. It absorbed Harper's Weekly in 1916 and in 1923 relocated to Boston. Editors included Bowen, Rev. Henry Ward Beecher, and Assyriologist William Hayes Ward.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Independent Editor's Correspondence consists of letters to and from the editor of the newspaper. Editors represented are Henry C. Bowen, John Eliot Bowen, and William Ward Hayes. Correspondents include jurist Joseph P. Bradley, poet Harriet McEwen Kimball, Portland mayor Neal Dow, and Irish MP Justin McCarthy. There is also a series of several chatty and personal letters, 1910-1913, from William Hayes Ward to a "Miss Chesebrough."


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Bowen, Henry Chandler, 1813-1896.
Bowen, John Eliot, 1858-1890.
Ward, William Hayes, 1835-1916.

Associated Titles

Independent (New York, N.Y. : 1848)

Subjects

American newspapers -- History -- 20th century.
Journalism -- History.
Newspaper editors -- New York (State) -- Correspondence.

Places

New York (N.Y.) -- Intellectual life -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Newspaper editors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

The Independent Editor's Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1967.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 524 Editorial correspondence 1883-1913