Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Harold Ickes Columns

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 6 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Ickes, Harold L. (Harold LeClair), 1874-1952.
Title: Harold Ickes Columns
Dates: 1946-1952
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: American Secretary of the Interior and later syndicated columnist. Collection consists of typescripts of his columns.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Harold Ickes (1874-1952) was a United States administrator and politician. He served as Secretary of the Interior for 13 years, from 1933 to 1946, the longest tenure of anyone to hold the office, and afterwards he became a syndicated columnist writing on political topics.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Harold Ickes Columns consist of typescripts of his syndicated columns"Man to Man" and those written for the New Republic. The collection also includes an index to each set of columns.


Arrangement of the Collection

Each series is arranged in numerical order as assigned by the author.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Ickes, Harold L. (Harold LeClair), 1874-1952.

Subjects

Journalists -- United States.

Occupations

Journalists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Harold Ickes Columns,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Journalism Library, Syracuse University, 1964.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
Man to Man columns
Box 1 Index 1949
Box 1 Nos 1-250 1946-1947 (5 folders)
Box 2 Nos 251-568 1947-1949
New Republic columns
Box 2 Index 1952
Box 2 Nos 1-142 1949-1952